Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Master Q on September 29, 2016, 07:53:00 PM

Title: Jim LS Q
Post by: Master Q on September 29, 2016, 07:53:00 PM
I have the Jim LS (it's what I've decided to call it) in my territory. My opponent exchanges for it with the Switch LS. Does the opponent get to reveal a hand? If I exchange back, do I reveal a hand? This came up in a friendly game, and I immediately thought that you could do this, based on the wording.

Jim LS:
"If this Lost Soul is put in a territory, you may reveal a hand."

Switch LS:
"If this card is in your territory during your preparation phase, you may exchange it with a Lost Soul in an opponent’s territory (except another copy of this card)."
Title: Re: Jim LS Q
Post by: Ironisaac on September 29, 2016, 08:04:27 PM
I have the Jim LS (it's what I've decided to call it) in my territory. My opponent exchanges for it with the Switch LS. Does the opponent get to reveal a hand? If I exchange back, do I reveal a hand? This came up in a friendly game, and I immediately thought that you could do this, based on the wording.

Jim LS:
"If this Lost Soul is put in a territory, you may reveal a hand."

Switch LS:
"If this card is in your territory during your preparation phase, you may exchange it with a Lost Soul in an opponent’s territory (except another copy of this card)."

It's unofficial name is "open hand" However, I have no clue on the ruling question. I think it would activate though.
Title: Re: Jim LS Q
Post by: browarod on September 29, 2016, 10:27:58 PM
I'm fairly certain it was worded the way it is to allow just this sort of thing. I vaguely remember the hand and deck discard souls being ruled to trigger if your exchanger soul is in a site when you swap for them (because that's "putting them in a site") so I assume the same goes for this soul. It is put into a territory when exchanged so you'd get to reveal.
Title: Re: Jim LS Q
Post by: Watchman on September 29, 2016, 10:35:25 PM
I have the Jim LS (it's what I've decided to call it) in my territory. My opponent exchanges for it with the Switch LS. Does the opponent get to reveal a hand? If I exchange back, do I reveal a hand? This came up in a friendly game, and I immediately thought that you could do this, based on the wording.

Jim LS:
"If this Lost Soul is put in a territory, you may reveal a hand."

Switch LS:
"If this card is in your territory during your preparation phase, you may exchange it with a Lost Soul in an opponent’s territory (except another copy of this card)."

Yes and yes.
Title: Re: Jim LS Q
Post by: uthminister [BR] on September 30, 2016, 10:12:17 AM
Agreed!
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal