Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Jeremystair on December 21, 2016, 02:13:55 PM
-
If I've already used Jephthah's ability (once per game holder May discard any 2 evil characters in a territory or set aside area if holder discard the top card from holders draw pile) and my opponent bands him into battle can my opponent use his ability as well?
-
Yes, Jephthah is a "once per player per game" ability.
That being said, if your opponent bands to your Jephthah and uses the ability, he cannot use his own Jephthah later in the game.
-
are we sure about this ruling? It says holder and since I am the one that Drew the card and already used the ability I would think that it's over. Your opponent is only borrowing your character and it's only temporary they're not really the holder of the card. Right?
-
The holder, whether the holder is temporary or permanent, is part of the special ability. So if you drew Jephthah from your deck, used the ability, and then the next turn your opponent temporarily controls him through a band or whatever, then your opponent (another holder) can use the ability once for his game as well.
-
OK thanks
-
To clarify, "holder" is old language for "you" or, in other words, the person using the special ability.
-
Just a question regarding multiple Jephthah's being played.
Are you limited to once per game per Jephthah card or is it all Jephthah's period. Also the PA and J Jephthah have different abilities since their potential targets differ, does that make them separate once per game abilities?
Sorry if that is a little off topic.
-
Just a question regarding multiple Jephthah's being played.
Are you limited to once per game per Jephthah card or is it all Jephthah's period. Also the PA and J Jephthah have different abilities since their potential targets differ, does that make them separate once per game abilities?
Sorry if that is a little off topic.
Each player can use 1 Jephthah discard only per game, no matter how many copies or versions you have in your deck.
-
Just a question regarding multiple Jephthah's being played.
Are you limited to once per game per Jephthah card or is it all Jephthah's period. Also the PA and J Jephthah have different abilities since their potential targets differ, does that make them separate once per game abilities?
Sorry if that is a little off topic.
Each player can use 1 Jephthah discard only per game, no matter how many copies or versions you have in your deck.
Is there some explanation as to why? The Pa and J Jephthah have different abilities in function so I fail to see how the once per game per player clause limits the use for the other since neither specify only 1 Jephthah once per game ability can be used per game. Am I just missing something?
-
Just a question regarding multiple Jephthah's being played.
Are you limited to once per game per Jephthah card or is it all Jephthah's period. Also the PA and J Jephthah have different abilities since their potential targets differ, does that make them separate once per game abilities?
Sorry if that is a little off topic.
Each player can use 1 Jephthah discard only per game, no matter how many copies or versions you have in your deck.
Is there some explanation as to why? The Pa and J Jephthah have different abilities in function so I fail to see how the once per game per player clause limits the use for the other since neither specify only 1 Jephthah once per game ability can be used per game. Am I just missing something?
The ability of the version of Jep that discards two evil characters can only be used once per game per player. The other version of Jep that doesn't have a specified limit can be used as much as you want just like a normal ability.
-
Just a question regarding multiple Jephthah's being played.
Are you limited to once per game per Jephthah card or is it all Jephthah's period. Also the PA and J Jephthah have different abilities since their potential targets differ, does that make them separate once per game abilities?
Sorry if that is a little off topic.
Each player can use 1 Jephthah discard only per game, no matter how many copies or versions you have in your deck.
Is there some explanation as to why? The Pa and J Jephthah have different abilities in function so I fail to see how the once per game per player clause limits the use for the other since neither specify only 1 Jephthah once per game ability can be used per game. Am I just missing something?
The ability of the version of Jep that discards two evil characters can only be used once per game per player. The other version of Jep that doesn't have a specified limit can be used as much as you want just like a normal ability.
Both Jephthah have a limit I'll post the abilities for reference.
Jephthah (pa)
Errata/Play As: Holder may discard the top card from his deck to discard any two Evil Characters in a territory or set-aside area. Limit once per player per game.
Jephthah (j)
Once per game, you may discard the top card of your deck to discard up to 2 Evil Characters.
My question is since the abilities are different why does using 1 ability limit the other? Unless I am missing an identifier or errata that limits players to using 1 Jephthah ability per game or something
-
Just a question regarding multiple Jephthah's being played.
Are you limited to once per game per Jephthah card or is it all Jephthah's period. Also the PA and J Jephthah have different abilities since their potential targets differ, does that make them separate once per game abilities?
Sorry if that is a little off topic.
Each player can use 1 Jephthah discard only per game, no matter how many copies or versions you have in your deck.
Is there some explanation as to why? The Pa and J Jephthah have different abilities in function so I fail to see how the once per game per player clause limits the use for the other since neither specify only 1 Jephthah once per game ability can be used per game. Am I just missing something?
The ability of the version of Jep that discards two evil characters can only be used once per game per player. The other version of Jep that doesn't have a specified limit can be used as much as you want just like a normal ability.
Both Jephthah have a limit I'll post the abilities for reference.
Jephthah (pa)
Errata/Play As: Holder may discard the top card from his deck to discard any two Evil Characters in a territory or set-aside area. Limit once per player per game.
Jephthah (j)
Once per game, you may discard the top card of your deck to discard up to 2 Evil Characters.
My question is since the abilities are different why does using 1 ability limit the other? Unless I am missing an identifier or errata that limits players to using 1 Jephthah ability per game or something
Oh sorry, I was thinking of the new Jep with a completely different ability.
-
Each player can use 1 Jephthah discard only per game, no matter how many copies or versions you have in your deck.
Is this a bottom-up ruling or is there something in a rules document that supports this?
-
Each player can use 1 Jephthah discard only per game, no matter how many copies or versions you have in your deck.
Is this a bottom-up ruling or is there something in a rules document that supports this?
Considering Jephthah (j) and Jephthah (pa) have different abilities can someone explain the logic behind this ruling other than allowing players to use both Jephthah abilities in a game is bad for the game? As is they seem like 2 different once per game abilities since Jephthah ( j) can target evil characters in play (not set aside like pa) and Jephthah (pa) can target evil characters in territory or set aside (not battle like j). I'm just not seeing any reason why using 1 limits the other under the current rules other than TPTB say so. Unless there is a limit of 1 once per game ability per player for unique characters. (Which currently only applies to Jephthah as far as I know)
-
Unless there is a documented limit of 1 once per game ability per player for unique characters.
FTFY