Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: slugfencer on September 13, 2009, 10:20:30 PM
-
When you use image o jealousy to negate the special ability of a fortress (z temple) does it also negate the identifier?
Image of Jealousy
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Brown • Ability: 1 / 3 • Class: Territory • Special Ability: on a Hero or good Fortress. While this card remains, negate the special ability on that card.
Zerubbabel’s Temple
Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect your Zerubbabel’s Temple Priests from capture, conversion, and removal from the game. Only one good Temple or Tabernacle may be in a player’s territory. • Identifiers: Holds one Temple artifact, except Ark of the Covenant and Tables of the Law •
-
When you use image o jealousy to negate the special ability of a fortress (z temple) does it also negate the identifier?
Image of Jealousy
Type: Evil Enh. Brigade: Brown Ability: 1 / 3 Class: Territory Special Ability: on a Hero or good Fortress. While this card remains, negate the special ability on that card.
Zerubbabels Temple
Type: Fortress Brigade: Multicolor Ability: None Class: None Special Ability: Protect your Zerubbabels Temple Priests from capture, conversion, and removal from the game. Only one good Temple or Tabernacle may be in a players territory. Identifiers: Holds one Temple artifact, except Ark of the Covenant and Tables of the Law
Not atm, but I hear the Identifier will be erroted into the SA soon.
-
I haven't heard such a thing. ???
-
I'm pretty sure Smokey is joking. No such change has been discussed/announced.
-
Hey,
Any "holds" sentence on a card is a special ability regardless of where it appears on the card. So even thought "Holds one Temple artifact, except Ark of the Covenant and Tables of the Law" appears where an identifier should appear, it is actually a special ability.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
-
Since when? thats a pretty signifigant change to just make secretly.
-
I'll assume that a rule that Tim wants to see in the new REG. It's not the way it's been ruled in the past or the way it is presently being ruled.
-
true, that is not the way it is ruled currently.
-
Hey,
The way I see it "Holds one Temple artifact" can't be an identifier any more than "This character is a priest" can be an ability. The comment I made was a decision made by Mike, Bryon and myself in an e-mail discussion about a year ago. I assume it isn't in the REG because it got lost over time in Mike's business.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
-
"Holds" is a special ability.
Fortress special abilities tend to be quite long. Putting "holds" abilities in the identifier line seemed like a good idea at the time...
But it is the special ability that allows you to put cards into and out of the fortress during the prep phase, unless specified otherwise on the card.
-
....... so IaJ on Tabernacle and/or Z's temple won't let you have multiple temple arts? :(
-
correct. no multiple arts
-
Since when? thats a pretty signifigant change to just make secretly.
-
If you use I am Grace to get rid of IoJ, can you activate an art in the temple that turn???
-
I was discussing this as a rule that will appear in the REG. I am not certain whether this is the ruling now.
-
I'm pretty sure the ruling right now is that the combo works. Identifiers have never been able to be negated, and IoJ definitely doesn't.
-
You can try to do it now if you want, I suppose, but once the REG in posted around Thanksgiving or so, it won't be legal anymore.
So, you might want to try doing something else with your deck.
-
once the REG in posted around Thanksgiving or so...
Right after Duke Nukem Forever is released :)
-
SPOILER ALERT!! ;D
-
once the REG in posted around Thanksgiving or so...
Right after Duke Nukem Forever is released :)
Hey, that's my (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=15501.msg241857#msg241857) joke (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=17124.msg269411#msg269411)!
-
(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.geeksaresexy.net%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2009%2F05%2Fduke1.jpg&hash=fa3b60f9d7bfef6afe41ae81587ecd748869ce3a)
-
That's amazing... :laugh:
-
awesomeness personified