Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Crashfach2002 on January 29, 2011, 02:14:27 PM

Title: James, Son of Alphaeus
Post by: Crashfach2002 on January 29, 2011, 02:14:27 PM
James, Son of Alphaeus (Di)
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Purple • Ability: 1 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate special abilities on Evil Characters (and weapons) with toughness X or less. May band to Thaddeus. • Identifiers: NT Male Human, Disciple • Verse: Matthew 10:2-3 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()  X = # of your good disciples in play

Does the (and weapons) mean any weapons in play with toughness x or less, or does it mean any weapons that are on the characters?

In other words my opponent has 5 disciples in play.  I have a 6/6 evil character with a 2/3 weapon.  So is the weapon negated because it is under 5 or does it still work because the character it is on is above 5?
Title: Re: James, Son of Alphaeus
Post by: The Guardian on January 29, 2011, 02:16:07 PM
I'm fairly certain it means weapons with toughness less than X.

So with 3 Disciples in play, a 3/4 weapon would not be negated.
Title: Re: James, Son of Alphaeus
Post by: Gabe on January 29, 2011, 02:20:33 PM
I'm fairly certain it means weapons with toughness less than X.

So with 3 Disciples in play, a 3/4 weapon would not be negated.

+1
Title: Re: James, Son of Alphaeus
Post by: Crashfach2002 on January 29, 2011, 02:26:20 PM
Then my question is why is in parenthesis?  It makes my playgroup think that they have to be on a character with x or less to be negated.  That is what caused the confusion.
Title: Re: James, Son of Alphaeus
Post by: Minister Polarius on January 30, 2011, 12:27:17 AM
The parenthesis are to clarify that the grouping is [characters and weapons] of X or less, not [characters] and [weapons of X or less].
Title: Re: James, Son of Alphaeus
Post by: RTSmaniac on January 30, 2011, 03:29:57 AM
so would this negate good weapons as well?
Title: Re: James, Son of Alphaeus
Post by: Minister Polarius on January 30, 2011, 04:31:43 AM
Yes, although I doubt that would ever come up.
Title: Re: James, Son of Alphaeus
Post by: Professoralstad on January 30, 2011, 11:42:02 AM
Yes, although I doubt that would ever come up.

+1.
Title: Re: James, Son of Alphaeus
Post by: Crashfach2002 on January 30, 2011, 01:37:39 PM
Ok, just to clarify, lets just say the 2/2 Warrior class Fallen Warrior has the 0/5 Warrior Class Goliath's Armor on.  My opponent has 3 Disciples in play.  Fallen Warrior is negated, but is Goliath's Armor?
Title: Re: James, Son of Alphaeus
Post by: SomeKittens on January 30, 2011, 01:43:13 PM
No.
Title: Re: James, Son of Alphaeus
Post by: Crashfach2002 on January 30, 2011, 02:26:41 PM
No.

I didn't think so, but I wanted to make sure!
Title: Re: James, Son of Alphaeus
Post by: Professoralstad on January 31, 2011, 02:17:50 PM
Ok, just to clarify, lets just say the 2/2 Warrior class Fallen Warrior has the 0/5 Warrior Class Goliath's Armor on.  My opponent has 3 Disciples in play.  Fallen Warrior is negated, but is Goliath's Armor?

For one thing, Goliath's Armor is CBN anyway. But even if it wasn't, it could only be negated by James if X>5.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal