Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Jeremystair on December 28, 2016, 02:32:30 PM

Title: James and John
Post by: Jeremystair on December 28, 2016, 02:32:30 PM
If my opponent comes out with James and bands in John i play saph (who prevents the next enhancement played by an opponent.) But John says negate evil characters. Saph is now losing the battle and I play a card that under decks John dose saph ability to prevent the next enhancement come back into effect?
Title: Re: James and John
Post by: Watchman on December 28, 2016, 02:45:57 PM
Saph's ability is negated by John, so the special ability of the next enhancement played by your opponent can still activate.

To clarify, even if you underdeck John his negating ability still is in effect until the end of the battle phase unless his ability is negated during battle.
Title: Re: James and John
Post by: Josh on December 28, 2016, 09:59:04 PM
To clarify, even if you underdeck John his negating ability still is in effect until the end of the battle phase unless his ability is negated during battle.

To further clarify the bolded portion above, Saph's ability would kick back in if John was negated during battle only because Saph's ability is ongoing.  If it was instant (like "Band to a Philistine"), it wouldn't reactivate after being initially prevented.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal