Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Scottie_ffgamer on March 11, 2009, 12:53:19 AM
-
Player A rescues with Jacob and plays Obedience of Noah. He then brings in Complainers. The question was, does complainers negating Jacob's ability cause OoN to return to hand and let Player B choose who he wishes to block? I told him no because it was not directly negating OoN. It would negate Jacob's ability to play it, but since it's already been played and it isn't being targeted for negate, it stays. Is this right?
*EDIT* Jacob - May band to a silver brigade Hero, or you may play a Genesis Enhancement.
Obedience of Noah - Holder may choose the Evil Character that his opponent uses to block his rescue attempt.
Complainers - Negate all special abilities on opponent’s Heroes. You may exchange a Hero in battle with a Hero in opponent’s territory.
-
Based on the latest rulings on retroactive negates, you are correct that the ability to play a card cannot be negated. Obedience sticks; Complainers stays.
-
I agree with sk that the ability to play a card cannot be interrupted.
In the example OoN has chosen the blocker so it's ability is complete. Complainers would still be able to "exchange a Hero in battle with a Hero in opponent’s territory" assuming there is a legal target.
-
Can I assume that Jacob's ability is actually "may play a Genesis Enhancement" and not "may choose the blocker"?
Once a card is played, it's played. I've often said you can un-do an ability but you can't un-play a card. That is the scenario here. The card is already played.
If you blocked with King of Tyrus or played an Enhancement that negated Obedience of Noah, then you could go back and choose your own blocker.
-
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Guess who made the play in question
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D