Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: DDiceRC on September 29, 2009, 10:29:00 PM

Title: Jacob and covenants
Post by: DDiceRC on September 29, 2009, 10:29:00 PM
Can Jacob (May band to a silver brigade Hero, or you may play a Genesis Enhancement) play Covenant of Noah as an enhancement? I'm inclined to say no, since in your hand a covenant is a covenant so it isn't a "Genesis enhancement."
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: YourMathTeacher on September 29, 2009, 10:33:13 PM
You can. Covenants can be used as an enhancement, which it would be in this case.
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: DDiceRC on September 29, 2009, 10:48:55 PM
So Jacob can play Cov/Noah since it is being played as an enhancement, correct? Kind of like once it's taken from your hand, it becomes an enhancement on the way to the FoB, and if it was headed to the artifact pile it would become an artifact on the way. Only in hand/in deck is it a covenant.

I'm looking for the general principle so I can rule correctly for other cards like this.
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: lightningninja on September 29, 2009, 10:57:47 PM
Yeah, that's basically it. If it's in deck or discard, it is a "covenent." Once it's in play (or in your hand) you get to choose what it is.  :)
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: DDiceRC on September 29, 2009, 11:01:45 PM
I thought as long as it was in your hand it was still a covenant, which kept it from being affected by SAs that target an enhancement or artifact.
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on September 29, 2009, 11:09:46 PM
Thats a pretty good question actually... I'm not sure.
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on September 29, 2009, 11:20:50 PM
Yeah, that's basically it. If it's in deck or discard, it is a "covenent." Once it's in play (or in your hand) you get to choose what it is.  :)

Actually, in hand, it is still a covenant.

I thought as long as it was in your hand it was still a covenant, which kept it from being affected by SAs that target an enhancement or artifact.
+1


Thats a pretty good question actually... I'm not sure.

Well, what about Philosophy?  When you play it, you choose whether it is a good or evil enhancement.  We do know that you can discard it to fulfill Zimri's ability.  On that same reasoning, I think you could play a covenant.  You are choosing to play it as an enhancement. 

Whether an ability or initiative is causing you to use the covenant as an enhancement, I don't see a difference.


However, when I use this type of logic on a ruling, I always seem to be wrong. lol  :police:
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 29, 2009, 11:24:16 PM
The difference is, a Covenant in hand is a Covenant, not an Artifact and an Enhancement. In hand, Philosophy is a Good Enhancement and an Evil Enhancement.
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: YourMathTeacher on September 29, 2009, 11:28:05 PM
However, when I use this type of logic on a ruling, I always seem to be wrong. lol  :police:

You're not wrong, because if you are wrong then I am wrong, and I don't feel like being wrong tonight.

The SA says that "you may play a Genesis enhancement." When Covenant of Noah hits the Field of Battle, it is officially a Genesis enhancement. That is the only time that a "card check" would ever occur. I don't see any issue here.
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: CountFount on September 29, 2009, 11:44:24 PM
However, when I use this type of logic on a ruling, I always seem to be wrong. lol  :police:

You're not wrong, because if you are wrong then I am wrong, and I don't feel like being wrong tonight.

The SA says that "you may play a Genesis enhancement." When Covenant of Noah hits the Field of Battle, it is officially a Genesis enhancement. That is the only time that a "card check" would ever occur. I don't see any issue here.

Completely Agree. CoN is both and can be played as either.
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: Prof Underwood on September 30, 2009, 09:19:42 AM
Jake could play CoN as a GE in the same way that Zimri can discard Captured Ark to fulfill his SA.
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 30, 2009, 03:38:15 PM
Jake could play CoN as a GE in the same way that Zimri can discard Captured Ark to fulfill his SA.
Zimri can't Discard Captured Ark. In hand, they are Curses/Covenants and can't be targeted as Enhancements by a Play Next or Discard ability.
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: BubbleBoy on September 30, 2009, 04:15:09 PM
I am so confused.
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: lightningninja on September 30, 2009, 04:23:16 PM
Okay... so Polarius disagrees. Anyone official wanna comment?  :)
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: sk on September 30, 2009, 04:49:58 PM
Another change that I found out about at Nationals is that a Curse or Covenant in your hand can be used as an Enhancement to satisfy a cost.  For example you can discard Capture Ark for King Zimri or Covenant with Noah for Stone Pillar at Bethel.

If a cov/curse can be added to storehouse from hand, then a curse can be d/ced to fulfill Zimri.  It is the same situation, and Rob has said how covs/curses can be added to Storehouse.

Correct. When it is in your hand, it is face value. However, when you pull it from your hand with the intent to use it as an enhancement, it is an enhancement. Similarly it becomes an artifact when you are taking it from your hand with intent to use it as an artifact.
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on September 30, 2009, 04:53:47 PM
Another change that I found out about at Nationals is that a Curse or Covenant in your hand can be used as an Enhancement to satisfy a cost.  For example you can discard Capture Ark for King Zimri or Covenant with Noah for Stone Pillar at Bethel.

Correct. When it is in your hand, it is face value. However, when you pull it from your hand with the intent to use it as an enhancement, it is an enhancement. Similarly it becomes an artifact when you are taking it from your hand with intent to use it as an artifact.

Mike

Now does that mean you can search for a covenant in the deck and discard pile if you put it in play? Could I play Go into Captivity, then play Pride of Simon to grab GiC from the discard pile with the "intent of playing it" as an enhancement?
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: Prof Underwood on September 30, 2009, 04:58:17 PM
Now does that mean you can search for a covenant in the deck and discard pile if you put it in play? Could I play Go into Captivity, then play Pride of Simon to grab GiC from the discard pile with the "intent of playing it" as an enhancement?
If you are searching for a card to put it into your hand, then it will not be an enhancement or artifact where it is going (hand), and therefore you are not deciding yet, and therefore I don't think you could grab it.

If you are searching for a card to immediately put into play, then it would become an enhancement or artifact and you would be making that choice.  I don't know the official answer to this situation, but I personally think it would be ok.
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on September 30, 2009, 05:01:25 PM
If you are searching for a card to immediately put into play, then it would become an enhancement or artifact and you would be making that choice.  I don't know the official answer to this situation, but I personally think it would be ok.

Thats exactly what I was asking. If I search for a covenant and put it into play.

...

Evil combos just potentially opened up.  ;D I gotta read some abilities.
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 30, 2009, 06:36:24 PM
Holy cow! This foolish new rule is RIPE for breaking stuff :DDD
Title: Re: Jacob and covenants
Post by: thestrongangel on October 06, 2009, 09:15:20 PM
Now does that mean you can search for a covenant in the deck and discard pile if you put it in play? Could I play Go into Captivity, then play Pride of Simon to grab GiC from the discard pile with the "intent of playing it" as an enhancement?
If you are searching for a card to put it into your hand, then it will not be an enhancement or artifact where it is going (hand), and therefore you are not deciding yet, and therefore I don't think you could grab it.

If you are searching for a card to immediately put into play, then it would become an enhancement or artifact and you would be making that choice.  I don't know the official answer to this situation, but I personally think it would be ok.

Taking the definition directly from the REG on this one:

Covenant

Quote
A Covenant may be used either as an artifact or as an enhancement. Both a grail and a Bible picture together in the icon box show the card is a Covenant. When you play a Covenant, you decide how to use it. If you want to use it as an artifact, disregard the Bible picture and play the card as you would any other artifact. If you want to use it as an enhancement, disregard the grail picture and play the card as you would any other enhancement.

A covenant type is only chosen when you play the card, not when searching for a card.  On play next enhancement abilities, it is not targeting an enhancement in hand, but creating a special initiative to play an enhancement.  From the Play Next Enhancement Section:

Quote
The rules of initiative require that the player with initiative may play the next enhancement card or pass.  However, ‘play the next enhancement’ cards allow the holder to temporarily suspend the initiative rules until the effect is completed.  If playing the next card depends on a condition to be satisfied, the special ability to play the next card may either be delayed or not completed at all.  For example, some ‘play next enhancement’ cards cannot be completed until a blocker is presented in battle.  In this condition, an enhancement card cannot be played until the blocker is presented and the blocker’s special ability is activated.  If no blocker is presented, no enhancement card can be played.

So playing a Genesis enhancement means that you have special initiative to play an enhancement from hand, and a covenant may be played as an enhancement from hand.  However, because a Covenant card is a Covenant and not an artifact/enhancement except when being played, a card that searches for an enhancement cannot find a covenant as part of its search.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal