Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Minion of Jesus on April 09, 2012, 06:31:16 PM

Title: IT
Post by: Minion of Jesus on April 09, 2012, 06:31:16 PM
Minister Pol. says that even if Invoking Terror goes beneath your deck, it can still be negated. It has always been my understanding that if that happens, you cannot negate it. True or False?
Title: Re: IT
Post by: Chronic Apathy on April 09, 2012, 06:32:31 PM
Interrupt the battle and "negate last enhancement" works, nothing else does. At least, this is my understanding.
Title: Re: IT
Post by: Minister Polarius on April 09, 2012, 08:16:27 PM
That's not correct. "Special initiative" has been ruled to take place in the state immediately prior to the removal of the character. Any normal Negate will work.
Title: Re: IT
Post by: Chronic Apathy on April 09, 2012, 09:02:38 PM
That's not correct. "Special initiative" has been ruled to take place in the state immediately prior to the removal of the character. Any normal Negate will work.

Can you provide a link to that ruling?
Title: Re: IT
Post by: lightningninja on April 09, 2012, 09:07:34 PM
That's not correct. "Special initiative" has been ruled to take place in the state immediately prior to the removal of the character. Any normal Negate will work.
First of all, I think you're correct, but I'm not totally sure... because negates default to 'in play.'

In either case, even if Pol is correct, this would only be true if the only character in battle is being removed (and therefore you're losing by removal and get special initiate). If one of your two heroes is targeted, and then you have initiative, you can't play a normal negate.
Title: Re: IT
Post by: megamanlan on April 10, 2012, 07:40:38 PM
I saw the discussion on this before and the final consensus from the Elders seemed to be that u can only stop it by a Negate Last Enhancement. All others don't work. That was the only SI that I understood.
Title: Re: IT
Post by: Minister Polarius on April 11, 2012, 12:42:26 AM
That was not the outcome.
Title: Re: IT
Post by: adotson85 on April 11, 2012, 12:52:04 AM
Pol is correct:

http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/invoking-terror/msg434310/#msg434310 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/invoking-terror/msg434310/#msg434310)

Title: Re: IT
Post by: Minister Polarius on April 11, 2012, 12:59:15 AM
I am quite sure there's an even more recent one in which Prof U specifically defined special initiative in the exact same terms I did. I remember because there were some people who were mad about that and asked what that meant for situations like Arrogance+battle-winner followed by other things and never really got an answer.
Title: Re: IT
Post by: megamanlan on April 11, 2012, 07:16:08 PM
I believe that there was a recent thread that ended w/ it as it can only be stopped by a Negate last or Interrupts.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal