Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: crustpope on April 03, 2011, 06:45:05 PM
-
Israelite Archer banded to Angel of God
Does the Discard ability of IA work when he is banded to Angel of God? is this a cost/benefit problem? It isnt an instead issue but it might not work because of cost benefit. let me know.
Israelite Archer (Ki)
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Yellow • Ability: 2 / 5 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: May band to any warrior class Hero. May discard any warrior class Evil Character in a territory but then discard Israelite Archer at end of battle. • Identifiers: Generic OT Male Human, Fought Earthly Battle • Verse: I Chronicles 8:40 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Rare)
Angel of God (FF)
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: 7 / 12 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: Protect all human Heroes from discard abilities. Protect all Heroes from capture. • Identifiers: OT Male Angel • Verse: Exodus 14:19 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers booster packs (None)
-
I'm pretty sure the capture ability would work. The way it's worded makes me think that doing as much as you can is all that's necessary. You don't need one part of the ability to use the other.
-
You can discard the evil character, but then you have to discard israelite archer. In this case Angel of God is protect the archer from his second discard ability so he would live after battle.
-
I agree with TheHobbit
-
yes that is how the combo is set up, but does it work? or is it a cost/benefit ability in other words if you dont pay the cost (discarding IA) then do you get the benefit of d/c ing the EC's in territory?
-
It is not a cost/benefit (discard after battle to...), it's a do X, if so, then Y.
-
Basically you are completing as much of the ability as possible and you can't complete the discard so he doesn't get discarded.
-
Correct. This is the same principle that allows Assyrians or Egyptians to make such a hardy band of assassins.
-
yes that is how the combo is set up, but does it work? or is it a cost/benefit ability in other words if you dont pay the cost (discarding IA) then do you get the benefit of d/c ing the EC's in territory?
The combo does work. We're just clarifying that it is not a cost/benefit ability, but rather an action/reaction ability.
-
Can we get a few more elders on this?
-
IA's discard (of himself) is a triggered ability. Before the trigger goes off, he becomes protected from discard, and the trigger cannot go off. As others have stated, however, the discard of the EC does not depend at all on the discard of IA, so protecting IA later in the battle from being discarded has no effect on the discard of the EC.
-
Professoralstad is correct.
It cannot be cost/benefit when the cost is triggered and the benefit is immediate. (That only works for bailouts of banks. :P )
-
(That only works for bailouts of banks. :P )
Zing.
-
IA's discard (of himself) is a triggered ability. Before the trigger goes off, he becomes protected from discard, and the trigger cannot go off. As others have stated, however, the discard of the EC does not depend at all on the discard of IA, so protecting IA later in the battle from being discarded has no effect on the discard of the EC.
I should have been more specific, does the protect continue to work at the end of battle when IA discards himself?
-
The ability is still active during resolution, so yes.
-
More specifically, the protection lasts through the end of the phase. Battle Resolution is part of the Battle Phase.
-
Isn't there another thread going on right now that's saying that "after battle" is after battle and SA's are no longer active?
-
It would be a moot point, as IA says to discard it at the end of battle.
-
Aaaaaah, well then that's why.
-
What distinction is there between after battle and end of battle? Seems like inconsistent wording and semantics to me.
Besides how does the card that has that text stay active to do it?
So Thirty pieces can hit Simeon who cannot be discarded? That's messed up. Or Habbakkuk can discard a Human Evil character after being blocked by a towered Evil Merodach?
-
That's correct. After battle means at the start of Discard phase. At the end of battle means during battle resolution.
-
I gotta remember that one- does anybody have that topic bookmarked?