Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Korunks on October 16, 2010, 05:57:52 PM

Title: Is this still correct?
Post by: Korunks on October 16, 2010, 05:57:52 PM
IS Altar of Dagon still considered a protect?  I have heard that we are to disregard "Play as" that are really errata.  Is this errata or Clarification?


Altar of Dagon (Pa)

Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: No Evil Character can be converted. Prevents Holy Grail. • Play As: Protect Evil Characters from convert abilities. Prevent Holy Grail. • Identifiers: OT, Depicts an Idol, Depicts an Evil Altar, False Religious Practice • Verse: Judges 16:23 • Availability: Patriarchs booster packs (Uncommon)
Title: Re: Is this still correct?
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on October 16, 2010, 06:03:07 PM
as far as i know it's protect... but i am uncertain
Title: Re: Is this still correct?
Post by: Smokey on October 16, 2010, 06:12:01 PM
It's a protect.
Title: Re: Is this still correct?
Post by: Korunks on October 16, 2010, 06:18:14 PM
But is the play as correct?  Is that more of an errata than a play as?  That's the question, I know how it is currently ruled.  Is this how it sill is Yes or No?  Can I get some veterans involved in recent rulings and elders to comment on this?  How many of the "Play As" Rulings do we ignore?
Title: Re: Is this still correct?
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 16, 2010, 09:09:20 PM
This is an instance of a play-as that's actually a play-as. "Cannot be" language is protect unless it's followed by (I,P,N, or Ignored), and the play-as is just clarifying in modern terminology. So yes, Altar of Dagon is a Protect (and a Prevent when it comes to Holy Grail).
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal