Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Eric the Wolfe on August 14, 2011, 08:08:10 PM

Title: Invoking Terror
Post by: Eric the Wolfe on August 14, 2011, 08:08:10 PM
Just a quick question, can you negate or interrupt Invoking Terror?
The REG seemed to say that you can only target cards in battle, but Invoking Terror would be under deck by the time it is completed. So i was wondering if you could either negate or interrupt it.

REG:
Quote
Invoking Terror

Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Crimson/Pale Green • Ability: 4 / 0 • Class: Territory • Special Ability: Place a human Hero beneath owner’s deck. If used by a multi-color Magician, you may place this card beneath deck. Cannot be prevented. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Isaiah 47:12

REG Interrupt Special Conditions:
Quote
Interrupt the battle only includes such abilities if they are on cards that are in battle.
Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: Chronic Apathy on August 14, 2011, 08:23:19 PM
My gut says no. Once the card has left play, as you said, it cannot be negated.
Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: RTSmaniac on August 14, 2011, 08:26:15 PM
What about Abner's Spear?

Abner's Spear (Ki)
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Brown • Ability: 3 / 2 • Class: Weapon • Special Ability: Holder may discard Abner's Spear to discard a male Hero in battle with abilities of */4 or less. • Play As: Upon activation, holder may discard Abner's Spear to discard a male Hero in battle with abilities of */4 or less. • Identifiers: OT, Depicts a Weapon • Verse: II Samuel 2:23 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Common)

Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: Gabe on August 14, 2011, 08:39:34 PM
ITB has always interrupted the last enhancement played by an opponent, regardless of where it is. I wasn't aware that we intended to change that. That statement could probably use more clarity however I believe it was written with this in mind:

When you play an ability that causes me to lose by removal it gives me initiative to interrupt/negate. Your card stays in battle until I've had a chance to respond.
Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: Eric the Wolfe on August 14, 2011, 09:37:48 PM
What about negate?

REG Quote: (Negate special conditions section)
Quote
Abilities that have not completed activation are not valid targets for a negate ability.

Would a negate still work? Since it says it's not a valid target till it's completed and by then it's already been placed beneath your deck.
Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: Professoralstad on August 15, 2011, 02:35:29 PM
Interrupt the battle/interrupt the last enhancement card played can negate enhancements that place themselves elsewhere, but general negates (like Foolish Advice, Blessings, Devourer, etc.) will not negate cards that discard/place themselves under deck. This has been the case for as long as I can remember.

Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: Captain Kirk on August 26, 2011, 12:12:56 AM
Go Into Captivity played in battle has long been ruled in contrast to this. It has been ruled only a negate last can target GiC because it is no longer in play.

Kirk
Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: Gabe on August 26, 2011, 12:16:34 AM
Go Into Captivity played in battle has long been ruled in contrast to this. It has been ruled only a negate last can target GiC because it is no longer in play.

Kirk

I don't know where you get your ruling, but it's incorrect.
Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: lightningninja on August 26, 2011, 12:35:24 AM
Go Into Captivity played in battle has long been ruled in contrast to this. It has been ruled only a negate last can target GiC because it is no longer in play.

Kirk

I don't know where you get your ruling, but it's incorrect.
Kirk's interpretation seems to be consistent with the Prof's. Am I missing something?
Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: Captain Kirk on August 26, 2011, 12:40:32 AM
Kirk's interpretation seems to be consistent with the Prof's. Am I missing something?

Prof said "Interrupt the battle/interrupt the last enhancement card played can negate enhancements that place themselves elsewhere" which actually goes in contrast to what I said.

I looked back through some old threads (09 and 10) and I found out I was wrong. "Interrupt the battle" can target something that places itself elsewhere.

I do appreciate your help Gabe, sorry to jump all over you.

Kirk
Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: Gabe on August 26, 2011, 12:43:24 AM
No worries. Glad to help out when you're in the middle of a game. It's good to see you active again! :)
Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: SomeKittens on August 26, 2011, 12:44:55 AM
What if that somewhere is RFG?
Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: lightningninja on August 26, 2011, 05:55:18 PM
Go Into Captivity played in battle has long been ruled in contrast to this. It has been ruled only a negate last can target GiC because it is no longer in play.

Kirk

...general negates (like Foolish Advice, Blessings, Devourer, etc.) will not negate cards that discard/place themselves under deck. This has been the case for as long as I can remember.

These still seem to be consistent. I know I'm missing something obvious...
Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: Professoralstad on August 26, 2011, 06:03:51 PM
The obvious thing your missing is ItB, which interrupts the last enhancement, as well as any abilities that are causing losing by removal. GiC is both.
Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: lightningninja on August 26, 2011, 07:09:57 PM
Gotcha, thanks. I didn't realize Kirk was saying an interrupt the battle could not negate GIC.
Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: TheJaylor on October 01, 2011, 02:39:36 PM
What if that somewhere is RFG?
You can interrupt the battle when someone plays Achan's Sin but according to their rulings you can't negate it because it would already be out of play.
Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: SomeKittens on October 01, 2011, 02:49:57 PM
I can't negate Achan's sin?  This is news.
Title: Re: Invoking Terror
Post by: TheJaylor on October 01, 2011, 02:54:14 PM
I can't negate Achan's sin?  This is news.
According to what they said the negate has to target in play cards.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal