Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Legolas on June 05, 2017, 10:29:20 PM
-
This is a really novice question but I have the hard hearted pharaoh with Egyptian horses in battle. The hard hearted pharaoh doesn't work because of Egyptian horses correct? Then what if Egyptian horses resolved and my enemy's out of the battle- does the hard hearted pharaoh work then?
-
The ability of a character holding a weapon resolves before the weapon. HHP would discard off their deck, then if you banded the ability of the banded character would go off, then once that's all done you would draw 2 and could play off horses.
-
When one or more characters are played and have more than one special ability (including
gained abilities, cards placed or held), perform the abilities in this order:
1. Complete all special abilities in the order written on the card except those that add a
character to a battle (see steps 3 and 4 below).
Note that some special abilities can happen together even though they may be separated
by a period.
2. If the card is a character with either a gained ability or a weapon-class enhancement, then:
a. Activate any gained abilities in the order gained except those that add a character
to a battle (see steps 3 and 4 below).
b. Activate the special abilities on any carried weapon-class enhancement except
those that add a character to a battle (see steps 3 and 4 below).
Note that this only applies to cards that are PLAYED and abilities gained BY a
character. Enhancements that are placed on a character were played previously, and
that is when they activated; also, their abilities are on the enhancement, not “gained” by
the character.
3. Complete band abilities and exchange abilities that bring a character into battle.
4. Complete any choose blocker/rescuer or side battle abilities.
5. Complete all pending abilities that trigger or activate based on the playing of the card
(either playing generally or by putting a character in battle).
-
So the hard hearted pharaoh's ability would not be negated?
-
I'm also confused on how the order works on THHP's discard and band ability with Horses on him. I also was wondering about Coliseum Lion. Let's say I block with CL and discard one of my opponent's enhancements, then I play an enh off the discard (I play 3rd Bowl of Wrath) to discard the sole hero in battle. I'd also like to band in Lions to discard one of my opponent's ECs in territory. How does all of this work in proper order? Would Lions still be banded and can discard a character after my opponent's hero is discarded and has no way to interrupt/negate the hero's discard? And yes, I read the same thing in the REG that Karius posted but it only confused me more. A practical order of abilities for how the THHP with Horses and CL would be much appreciated.
Thanks
-
To answer multiple questions at once:
Both hard hearted and coliseum lions abilities happen, then the play abilities, resolve special initiative if any, then the band
Legolas hard hearted would not be negated or interrupted by horses as interrupt the battle interrupts the last ability used by an opponent and in some cases your ongoing abilities, not your own instant abilities though which his is
-
To answer multiple questions at once:
Both hard hearted and coliseum lions abilities happen, then the play abilities, resolve special initiative if any, then the band
Legolas hard hearted would not be negated or interrupted by horses as interrupt the battle interrupts the last ability used by an opponent and in some cases your ongoing abilities, not your own instant abilities though which his is
Interrupt the battle interrupts the last card played in battle IF it was played by your opponent. It can interrupt your own on-going abilities, but not your own instant abilities as KV said.
-
Alright- thank you a lot- I appreciate it.
-
Well that was what was causing the confusion for me. I thought ITB also affected your card if yours was the last card played (instant ability). I missed that part in the Interrupt entry in the REG.
So let's say 3rd Bowl gives the hero SI, and he plays a card that only negates 3rd bowl. The Lions band now happens, correct? What if it was a negate and discard (like Sam's Edict but not played on Sam or a hero with no SA) and my CL is now being discarded. I have SI and I play whatever to negate Sam's Edict. At no point during this back and forth, if another negate or ITB gets played, Lions gets banded in, correct? Theoretically, if this back and forth SI continues, and both are still in battle when it's all over that's when Lions can be banded in since it's still pending and there's no more SI, correct? I believe I now understand fully how these work, I just want to make sure I'm not missing something.
-
That is correct, the band ability would be suspended until all instances of SI (on either side) had resolved.
-
10-4 thanks