Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Gohanick on June 09, 2010, 01:16:58 AM
-
So it has been established that The Garden Tomb Works for all Player's Heroes
Now I direct you to the wording of "The Darkness"
The Darkness
Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Place an Evil Character from hand face down here. If an opponent begins a rescue attempt and chooses a blocker (or is unblocked), you may reveal this evil character. Blocking player may add it to the battle. Otherwise return it face down. • Identifiers: Holds one Evil Character • Verse: John 3:19
I'm most concerned about the second sentence. "If an opponent begins a rescue attempt and chooses a blocker (or is unblocked), you may reveal this evil character.
Here are my questions.
1. Can the word opponent ever be used to refer to holder of the darkness when said holder is making a rescue attempt?
2. "you may reveal this evil character". If 1. is true then who shall "you" refer to?
Scenario: I have darkness in my territory with an evil character face down and make a rescue attempt and am unblocked. Who has the ability to reveal the evil character. If it is just me (the holder of the darkness), can I still reveal this evil character? If I can reveal the character, does the blocking player (in this case, my opponent) have the ability to add the revealed character?
-
No. Ironically, the answer comes from the very ruling that brought this question up. Though TGT works for all players' TGT Heroes, that's because the SA specifies only character names. The ruling of interest regarding TGT (which isn't a ruling so much as what the card says) is that TGT is always read from its owner's perspective. In other words, if player A has TGT and no souls Rescued, and player B has no TGT but does have a soul, the Ignore powers are granted to all TGT Heroes.
In the same way, The Darkness is always read from its owner's perspective. He will never be his opponent, and "you" only refers to the owner anyway.
-
No. Ironically, the answer comes from the very ruling that brought this question up. Though TGT works for all players' TGT Heroes, that's because the SA specifies only character names. The ruling of interest regarding TGT (which isn't a ruling so much as what the card says) is that TGT is always read from its owner's perspective. In other words, if player A has TGT and no souls Rescued, and player B has no TGT but does have a soul, the Ignore powers are granted to all TGT Heroes.
In the same way, The Darkness is always read from its owner's perspective. He will never be his opponent, and "you" only refers to the owner anyway.
I agree with this :) but i have another question about the darkness.
If i'm playing multiplayer and 1 opponent makes a rescue against another am I allowed to reveal my facedown evil character to allow my second opponent to add him to battle? I believe I can but what i'm not sure about is can they then choose to "block" with one of there own evil characters?
-
I have heard that you CAN use darkness to block for another player.
-
you can reveal it. only the other player can add it to battle.
-
you can reveal it. only the other player can add it to battle.
ok thats what I thought. now for the second part. if they choose to add it to battle can they still choose to block with one of their own evil characters or if they choose to add it to battle does that count as their "block"
-
if they choose to use the evil character on the darkness, they cannot then add one of their own evil characters to battle.
-
I agree with your identifier thing on the bottom of your posts
-
Since we seem to be asking random questions on the darkness I give it a try. If I attack with a provisioned hero (in multi) and my opponent , cant beat me, asks for help. The third player at the table has WoP and darkness in his territory. He decides to reveal the EC and proceeds to add it to the battle. I argue that the player cannot add the evil character to battle because the Darkness specifically says the opponent decides to add it to battle and Wall of Protection prevents this. I was over ruled in the tournament but I think I have a good point (I can't remmeber if I have asked the question since then).
-
Hey,
That's been asked before, while face down the character in The Darkness is out of play and thus not affected by Wall of Protection. While revealing the character in the darkness makes it visible, it's still technically face down and out of play, so Wall of Protection doesn't affect it.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly