Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Jonesy on May 17, 2017, 12:41:28 PM
-
Scenario:
My hero is blocked in battle. I have SI. I play a card that interrupts and discards an EC. They instead it with Herods Temple. Do I get another chance to play in SI?
-
Scenario:
My hero is blocked in battle. I have SI. I play a card that interrupts and discards an EC. They instead it with Herods Temple. Do I get another chance to play in SI?
Yes
My bad. Since your interrupt wasn't "insteaded" you don't get another chance.
-
Special Initiative
When a player is controlling character(s) in battle and an opponent's activating special
ability, or a game rule that has been triggered by an opponent's activating special ability,
would leave that player with no character in battle when the special ability has completed,
they have Special Initiative.
When this occurs, suspend the card causing the removal, additional abilities waiting to
activate, and any triggers (currently active ongoing abilities remain active). The player with
their character(s) being removed has the opportunity to play an Enhancement that will
interrupt or negate the ability that is causing the removal (or that triggered the corresponding
game rule). The enhancement played must be able to interrupt or negate the removing ability.
If the card with the removing ability was already removed from play due to its ability, it may
still be targeted during Special Initiative by an enhancement that specifically targets its card
type.
This only occurs once per activation of an opponent's special ability. If a removing ability is
negated (or cannot reactivate after an interrupt effect is played) and the negate (or interrupt
effect that prevented reactivation) is later undone such that the original removing ability
reactivates, this would trigger a separate instance of Special Initiative.
Agree with Gabe's amended reply...REG indicates you only get a second chance of SI if the first attempt is undone.
-
So what if the interrupt gets insteaded and the discard does not?
-
So what if the interrupt gets insteaded and the discard does not?
It's still under discussion. An elder will share the official answer when it's decided.
-
Will this be decided before this weekend? It would effect some things for me at the TN state.
-
Please see the following thread for an explanation: http://www.cactusforums.com/ruling-questions/how-to-polycarp-an-explanation/new/#new (http://www.cactusforums.com/ruling-questions/how-to-polycarp-an-explanation/new/#new)