Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Praeceps on April 05, 2014, 07:36:33 PM

Title: Initiative Question
Post by: Praeceps on April 05, 2014, 07:36:33 PM
Player A attacks with Michael + Angel's Sword. Player B blocks with <random Human> + <matching Horses weapon>. Who plays first? Michael because AS can't be interrupted or the blocker because the weapon has to activate and finish before AS can act on its triggered state?
Title: Re: Initiative Question
Post by: DrowningFish on April 05, 2014, 07:50:50 PM
I feel like the Horses draw 2 and play next would be because its activating first technically. Right? Wrong? You give me headaches. Praeceps.
Title: Re: Initiative Question
Post by: Minion of Jesus on April 05, 2014, 08:00:22 PM
Since AS can't be interrupted, Michael plays first.
Title: Re: Initiative Question
Post by: TheJaylor on April 05, 2014, 09:37:05 PM
Minion is right. Because Angel's Sword cannot be interrupted, Player B blocks and draws 2, Michael gets to play an enhancement, and then if Player B's EC is still in battle Player B would get to play an enhancement.
Title: Re: Initiative Question
Post by: Josh on April 05, 2014, 09:53:59 PM
The weapon plays before AS activates.  AS triggers when the EC blocks, but the blocking action is not completed until the EC's ability and any equipped weapons activate and complete.  There are many old threads on this, with the same conclusion.
Title: Re: Initiative Question
Post by: TheJaylor on April 05, 2014, 10:06:53 PM
That's not what I've heard but you could very well be right. Could you link one of those threads?
Title: Re: Initiative Question
Post by: Redoubter on April 05, 2014, 10:24:07 PM
Confirm that the character, their weapon, and any other cards played as a result (such as from a play or band ability) must all complete BEFORE any other triggers (like on Angel's Sword) can activate.

Quote
The phrase “play the first enhancement” indicates a play an enhancement ability that takes effect as a response to the initial blocker(s) being presented.

In order for it to 'respond', it must wait for all abilities to complete.  Angel's Sword (and any other 'play first' abilities) cannot insert themselves between abilities.

In the example given, the EC blocks, D2, plays, then does whatever else happens as a result.  Once abilities stop, THEN an enhancement could be played.  This is a consistent ruling, and has been the case as long as I have been reading ruling threads and interpreting rules.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal