Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Platinum_Angel on December 23, 2012, 12:22:15 PM

Title: Initiative!
Post by: Platinum_Angel on December 23, 2012, 12:22:15 PM
I start a rescue attempt with James, son of Zebedee 8/6.
Opponent blocks with Abiram 5/7.
Opponent has initiative and plays Self-Doubt. (Return a Hero in play to the top of owner's draw pile.)
Opponent chooses to target James...

Does the initiative come back to me to respond with any enhancement? (Any purple enhancement?)

Can I respond with Angel of The Lord? (If so, does James stay in play and Abiram and Self-Doubt go to opponents discard pile?)
Title: Re: Initiative!
Post by: Warrior_Monk on December 23, 2012, 01:16:55 PM
No. You may only respond with an enhancement that interrupts or negates self-doubt. Angel of the Lord does not interrupt, so that falls into the same category.
Title: Re: Initiative!
Post by: wyatt_marcum on December 23, 2012, 01:40:35 PM
AoL only works if you interupt the battle and can play the next inhancement.
Title: Re: Initiative!
Post by: Gabe on December 23, 2012, 02:20:55 PM
AoL only works if you interupt the battle and can play the next inhancement.

This is false. AotL is not an enhancement so it cannot be used before the interrupt ends and your removal kicks in again.
Title: Re: Initiative!
Post by: wyatt_marcum on December 25, 2012, 03:26:55 PM
oh. I've always understood that you could use Aol instead of the enhyancement.
Title: Re: Initiative!
Post by: Redoubter on December 25, 2012, 03:30:36 PM
oh. I've always understood that you could use Aol instead of the enhyancement.

You cannot use AoTL to interrupt or negate the ability itself, so it cannot be used.  And if you have a "play next" ability, those are specifically "play next enhancement", and thus you cannot play a dom before it resolves (either you play the enhancement or state you aren't doing that part of the ability, at which point the interrupting of Self-Doubt has ended and you must interrupt or negate it again.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal