Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Warrior_Monk on April 03, 2010, 10:27:49 PM

Title: Indirect Negating
Post by: Warrior_Monk on April 03, 2010, 10:27:49 PM
ok, so I'm still confused on this. so my opponent rescues with Claudia banded to ET and plays Reach (nothing more). I block with Complainers and negate the special abilities. is Reach negated?
Title: Re: Indirect Negating
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 03, 2010, 11:15:10 PM
I think the answer to this is no, but I think that hearing a professional explanation could clear a few things up in my mind as well.
Title: Re: Indirect Negating
Post by: Warrior_Monk on April 03, 2010, 11:36:50 PM
found what I needed.
Yes. Negates cascade. Negating a band negates the fact that the character was in battle (unless the second character is the one negating the banding, like Jacob to TSA, to avoid infinite loops). So Jacob+Captain blocked by TFG results in Jacob vs. TFG with no FBTN.
The ability to play an enhancement cannot be interrupted. So even if it were the regular AoC, it would not be negated by TFG coming into battle, but since ET would leave the battle, it would be discarded.
Title: Re: Indirect Negating
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on April 05, 2010, 12:01:11 AM
Negates cascade.  Negating ET's ability would negate Reach as ET's ability never activated.  If ET had played Reach due to normal #s init, it would not be negated.

Basically, if Ability A allows Ability B to be played via SA, and if Ability A is negated, Ability B is also negated because it was "never played".
Title: Re: Indirect Negating
Post by: Minister Polarius on April 05, 2010, 03:44:58 AM
False.
Title: Re: Indirect Negating
Post by: Professoralstad on April 05, 2010, 09:14:31 AM
Negates cascade.  Negating ET's ability would negate Reach as ET's ability never activated.  If ET had played Reach due to normal #s init, it would not be negated.

That's usually true, except the ability to play an enhancement cannot be interrupted, so neither is Reach. However, it would be discarded since ET is kicked out of battle by negating the band.

The only way Reach can be negated in this situation is direct negation (i.e. if you blocked with King of Tyrus, or with Goliath and played Foolish Advice, Devourer, etc.)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal