Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Watchman on March 12, 2017, 11:59:24 AM
-
I'm not quite understanding how the REG talks about I/D.
For example, does Gibeonite Trickery mean that the 0/4 increase on the heroes last permanently (while they remain in play), or just until the end of the battle phase? Also, does Plagued with Diseases (when played as an artifact) continually affect my opponents' heroes while those heroes remain in play, or does it last until the end of the phase? What about when it's played as an enh? It's decrease is a one time deal and lasts until the end of phase?
The whole on-going and instant, statically and dynamically wording for I/D is what confuses me. In reading that on-going lasts until the end of phase and instant is permanent seems backwards to me.
-
This is fairly simple:
Increase/Decreases on Artifacts, Covenants & Curses are applied as Continuous effects. They apply while they are in play and when they are deactivated the affected characters return to their original stats. The only exception would be if there was a trigger to cause the decrease. I believe that would be permenant.
Increase/Decreases on all other cards are based on what the card says. So if the card says "Decrease a Hero by 3/3 until the end of the battle." That applies only until the Battle ends. However, if it does not say when it ends (like with the Fourth Seal): Then it applies permenantly to all who are affected until they are Healed or Discarded.
And do note that if a Character's Toughness becomes 0 (*/0) it is immediately discarded and the Decrease ability can trigger Special Initiative if no other Heroes are in battle.
-
does Gibeonite Trickery mean that the 0/4 increase on the heroes last permanently
Yes.
Also, does Plagued with Diseases (when played as an artifact) continually affect my opponents' heroes
Yes
What about when it's played as an enh? It's decrease is a one time deal
Yes
and lasts until the end of phase
Permanent
The static/dynamic talk is in reference to cards with an X value, and is clarifying that changing X values does not constitute an increase or decrease.
-
Thanks gents. And thanks for the to-the-point brevity, MP. That helps me the most and not a bunch of technical jargon (like how the REG reads concerning this ability). :)