Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Matman on July 29, 2009, 05:30:36 PM
-
If I have an Evil Character like Orpah (Reg listing below) and I enter battle and there is only one hero and no Ruth or Naomi she becomes a 7/8.
If we both play a few enhancements and one of the enhancements lets the hero band an additional hero into battle does Orpah's stats decrease to 3/4?
Or does she maintain the 7/8 since the deciding factors were not there when she entered battle?
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Grey • Ability: 3 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Orpah's abilities increase to 7/8 if blocking a lone Hero unless Ruth or Naomi are in battle. • Play As: Orpah's abilities increase to 7/8 (and no higher) if blocking a lone Hero unless Ruth or Naomi are in battle. • Identifiers: OT Female Human • Verse: Ruth 1:14-15 • Availability: Patriarchs booster packs (Common)
-
Her ability is ongoing (given the wording "if blocking" as opposed to "if Orpah blocks"), and thus would be dynamic. When a Hero is added, Orpah is no longer blocking a lone Hero, and her abilities are as normal (3/4).
-
Since this is the only Orpah ruling thread, I decided to keep this question with it.
If Orpah is set aside with Large Tree for 9 turns (and should be increased 9/9), what are her stats?
1) 12/13 against a non-lone hero, Ruth, or Naomi and 16/17 against a lone hero except Ruth or Naomi
2) 12/13 against a non-lone hero, Ruth, or Naomi and 7/8 against a lone hero except Ruth or Naomi
3) Something else
Thanks!
Ken
-
"Increase to 7/8" means it's not 1). I think it's also not 2), since that's not an increase. So I think her ability doesn't work once her abilities pass 7/8.
-
Good point about #2... So what happens? Is she 12/13 no matter what at that point?
-
The play as only makes things worse:
Orpah (Pa)
[/size]Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Gray • Ability: 3 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability:Orpah's abilities (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/Master/gloss_abilities.htm) increase to 7/8 if blocking (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/Master/gloss_blocking.htm) a lone Hero (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/Master/gloss_hero.htm) unless Ruth or Naomi are inbattle (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/Master/gloss_battle.htm). • Play As: Orpah's abilities increase to 7/8 (and no higher) if blocking a lone Hero unless Ruth or Naomi are in battle. • Identifiers: OT Female Human (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/Master/gloss_human.htm) • Verse:Ruth 1:14-15 • Availability: Patriarchs (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/LinkedDocuments/Orpah%20(Pa).gif) booster packs (Common)
-
"Increase to 7/8" means it's not 1). I think it's also not 2), since that's not an increase. So I think her ability doesn't work once her abilities pass 7/8.
If I had to make a ruling on this today, I would agree with Aggie.