Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: jbeers285 on March 15, 2013, 01:32:47 AM

Title: in game question
Post by: jbeers285 on March 15, 2013, 01:32:47 AM
does obadiahs caves instead removed prophets from the dc pile?
Title: Re: in game question
Post by: Warrior_Monk on March 15, 2013, 02:52:15 AM
What is the exact ability? I don't have the RTS information files (mac compiled it into an app), and redemption live doesn't load. I've gone through 4 pages of the search function, but so far can't find the exact ability.
Title: Re: in game question
Post by: The Guardian on March 15, 2013, 03:46:27 AM
"Protect your Green Brigade Prophets from capture. Place your Green Brigade Prophets being removed from the game here instead. Each upkeep phase, shuffle contents into deck."

[Holds any number of Green brigade Prophets]
Title: Re: in game question
Post by: jbeers285 on March 15, 2013, 03:47:12 AM
Obadiah's Caves

Protect your green brigade prophets from capture.  Place your Green prophets being removed from the game here instead. Shuffle contents in owners draw pile each upkeep phase. (holds any number of green brigade prophets)

Vs.

Murmuring

Remove all cards except lost souls from one opponents discard pile from the game.

same ruling would apply for forgotten history and wonders forgotten right?

Title: Re: in game question
Post by: Prof Underwood on March 15, 2013, 05:00:14 AM
Wouldn't O's Caves target green prophets that were in play for protection?  If so, then it wouldn't be protecting anything in your discard pile (which is out of play), right?

The only problem that I see with this is that the traditional ruling on Chamber of Angels would seem to go against that idea.  So either I'm not thinking clearly at 5am or else the old ruling on CoA might need revisiting :)
Title: Re: in game question
Post by: Josh on March 15, 2013, 08:02:33 AM
Based on how Chamber of Angels and Dust and Ashes work, I am fairly confident that Obadiah's Caves would "instead" the removal of your green prophets from discard pile via Murmuring and place them in O's Caves.  That clause is an "instead" ability, which targets abilities such as removal from game, not a protect ability.  There is no "in play" or "out of play" when it comes to Instead abilities.
Title: Re: in game question
Post by: Professoralstad on March 15, 2013, 10:33:11 AM
jmhartz is 100% correct. Just like an Angel discarded from hand goes to Chamber, a Prophet removed from dc pile goes to Caves.
Title: Re: in game question
Post by: Captain Kirk on March 15, 2013, 11:23:07 AM
Off the top of my head I was thinking the ability was worded something like "Protect your Green Brigade Prophets from removal from game...". If the wording did NOT include the word instead, would it be able to protect those in d/c pile?

Kirk
Title: Re: in game question
Post by: Professoralstad on March 15, 2013, 11:48:54 AM
Nope. Protect abilities must target the cards they are protecting, and they can't target cards in the discard pile unless specified (like Book of the Law does).
Title: Re: in game question
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 15, 2013, 11:58:29 AM
Redoubter is 100% correct.

Although this is generally true, we should give credit to where credit is due. Jmhartz was 100% correct in this case.  ;D
Title: Re: in game question
Post by: Professoralstad on March 15, 2013, 12:24:49 PM
Redoubter is 100% correct.

Although this is generally true, we should give credit to where credit is due. Jmhartz was 100% correct in this case.  ;D

So I was about 96% correct...
Title: Re: in game question
Post by: Redoubter on March 15, 2013, 02:24:26 PM
Redoubter is 100% correct.

Although this is generally true, we should give credit to where credit is due. Jmhartz was 100% correct in this case.  ;D

Ha, I was very confused when I got to your post YMT, since it was already edited in the original ;)  Though I think we all know that the original post isn't necessarily an accurate one :P ProfA doesn't make mistakes, so YMT must have been trying to pull a fast one on everybody.

Mod powers ftw!  ;)
Title: Re: in game question
Post by: Prof Underwood on March 15, 2013, 04:39:37 PM
There is no "in play" or "out of play" when it comes to Instead abilities.
And that is what I wasn't thinking of at 5am.  Thanks for everyone clearing this up :)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal