Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: theselfevident on September 11, 2011, 09:41:15 AM

Title: in game decision please
Post by: theselfevident on September 11, 2011, 09:41:15 AM
is discard by reduction of toughness considered protect by Pharoah's Throne Room
Title: Re: in game decision please
Post by: TechnoEthicist on September 11, 2011, 10:28:59 AM
Yes, see Crown of Thorns active on 1/3 Pharisees with High Priest's Palace active, however they will be discarded upon entering battle according to the new rules since they are 1/0.
Title: Re: in game decision please
Post by: theselfevident on September 11, 2011, 10:31:28 AM
Yes, see Crown of Thorns active on 1/3 Pharisees with High Priest's Palace active, however they will be discarded upon entering battle according to the new rules since they are 1/0.

Oh, I thought the ruling was that reduction was considered a different ability from discard...
Title: Re: in game decision please
Post by: christiangamer25 on September 11, 2011, 10:42:45 AM
ok cool so i was right and no harm done self simple misunderstanding i just kinda had something else at that moment anyway ill catch up with you later
Title: Re: in game decision please
Post by: Chronic Apathy on September 11, 2011, 11:50:39 AM
Yes, see Crown of Thorns active on 1/3 Pharisees with High Priest's Palace active, however they will be discarded upon entering battle according to the new rules since they are 1/0.

Oh, I thought the ruling was that reduction was considered a different ability from discard...

It is. However, Pharaoh's Throne Room doesn't protect from discard abilities, only discard. This means that while they are in the territory with PTR, they cannot be discarded. However, as Techno said, once they leave the territory, their ability activates and they are then immediately discarded.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal