Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Master Q on April 15, 2017, 12:00:59 PM

Title: Imitating Q
Post by: Master Q on April 15, 2017, 12:00:59 PM
Say I (or my opponent) has The Deceiver in play. I block with a different character and play Imitating Evil, choosing it to become The Deceiver.

1a. Would the exchange happen before the band?

2. Would the band happen, and then the double exchange?

1b. If the exchange happens first, would the exchanged EC band to the real Deceiver in territory?

The Deceiver: "You may exchange this card with a human Evil Character in deck or Reserve. Cannot be prevented."

Imitating Evil: "This card becomes a generic copy of a demon in play. This character may band to the copied character. Cannot be negated."
Title: Re: Imitating Q
Post by: kariusvega on April 15, 2017, 12:56:49 PM
exchange then band to ec who plays imitating
Title: Re: Imitating Q
Post by: Master Q on April 15, 2017, 02:33:00 PM
exchange then band to ec who plays imitating

Don't really understand what you're saying. My example:

I block with an orange character. I play Imitating Evil, choosing it to become a generic copy of The Deceiver, who is in my territory. It copies The Deceiver. I would then say the exchange happens. Does the band still happen, allowing the real Deceiver (lol) to be banded in, and then have him exchange out as well?

I guess what I'm really asking is what "This character" refers to on Imitating Evil. Does it refer to the character Imitating Evil was played on, or Imitating Evil itself (as was my original thought)?
Title: Re: Imitating Q
Post by: SignoftheStar on April 15, 2017, 04:51:42 PM
I guess what I'm really asking is what "This character" refers to on Imitating Evil. Does it refer to the character Imitating Evil was played on, or Imitating Evil itself (as was my original thought)?

That was my understanding as well- that Imitating Evil is referring to itself.

If that's the case, then it would seem to me that:
1. Imitating Evil becomes The Deceiver
2. Imitating Evil's old band ability bands The Deceiver in
3. Imitating Evil exchanges
4. The Deceiver exchanges

My reasoning is that Imitating Evil gains the abilities of the copied card after its printed abilities resolve. So the printed abilities would resolve first, meaning the band would resolve and then the exchange that it gains through the copy.
Title: Re: Imitating Q
Post by: Gabe on April 20, 2017, 11:08:56 AM
:bump: to see if I can get some conclusive answer. I like the scenario that Sign described, but I don't want to go into a game thinking I can play it that way if I can't...

I think some of our questions will be answered in tomorrow's Land of Redemption article.
Title: Re: Imitating Q
Post by: Gabe on April 20, 2017, 11:35:53 AM
Let's just say that some aspects of the card didn't function as we thought under the current rules and there was a matter of ambiguity. Your question got us to take a closer look and word the card so it functions as intended. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

And thank you.  :)
Title: Re: Imitating Q
Post by: The Guardian on April 20, 2017, 11:38:01 AM
Deceive me once, shame on you. Deceive me twice...  :doh:
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal