Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Master KChief on September 08, 2009, 04:09:12 PM
-
what happens to the enhancements inside storehouse if image of jealousy is placed on it?
Image of Jealousy
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Brown • Ability: 1 / 3 • Class: Territory • Special Ability: on a Hero or good Fortress. While this card remains, negate the special ability on that card. • Attributes: False Religious Practice • Identifiers: OT, False Religious Practice • Verse: Ezekiel 8:5 • Availability: Thesaurus ex Preteritus booster packs ()
Storehouse
Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Unused enhancements may be placed here face up during discard phase. Any one enhancement from Storehouse may be placed in holder's hand during player's Site phase. • Play As: Unused enhancements may be placed here face up during Discard Phase. Holder may return one enhancement from Storehouse to hand during Preparation Phase. • Identifiers: Holds any number of enhancement cards • Verse: Genesis 41:56 • Availability: Patriarchs booster packs (Rare)
-
Since Storehouse is only negated and not discarded, I believe the cards return to their default location. Your hand. If you reach the card limit, I guess you would have to d/c some.
I forgot about Storehouse's Identifiers. Those aren't negated, so I agree with Guardian who posted below.
-
They are stuck there. You cannot put more down and you cannot pick any up. Since Image of Jealousy only negates SH from the phase in which it was played and forward, enhancements already placed there would stay.
-
nice. :)
same goes for goshen and similiar cards?
-
With Goshen, the protection is negated, so other abilities (like banding) could allow the Heroes to "get out."
-
"Place in your territory. This fortress may hold up to three of your Heroes. Cards in this site are protected from harm or effect. Cards can only be added or removed from Goshen during your Preparation phase." (No identifiers)
Goshen's SA is what holds the Heroes, so negating the SA means the Heroes are no longer held. I don't know where they go in this case.
-
Booted to territory, since that's the location of the Fort and nothing is discarding them.
-
Not trying to overcomplicate things, but would a better solution be to give Goshen a similar "Play As" to the one given Storehouse where the ability to hold the Heroes is an identifier and not a special ability?
-
Not trying to overcomplicate things, but would a better solution be to give Goshen a similar "Play As" to the one given Storehouse where the ability to hold the Heroes is an identifier and not a special ability?
Yes, definitely. The new Goshen IMO needs to be consistent with forts that hold cards.
Booted to territory, since that's the location of the Fort and nothing is discarding them.
But what if Goshen read, "Set this card aside" like many other forts do? Would the heroes be stuck in set aside limbo?
-
Maybe.
In anticipation of the next question, I'd say if Potter's Field were hit somehow, the cards "treated as discarded Heroes" would be discarded like your average discarded Hero.
-
Hey,
"Holds" is not an ongoing ability. Negating Goshen has basically the exact same effect as negating Storehouse does. The cards in Goshen stay there and you cannot put new ones there, but you can band to or attack with a character in Goshen and that would get it out of Goshen.
But what if Goshen read, "Set this card aside" like many other forts do? Would the heroes be stuck in set aside limbo?
Sadly that's kinda a moot point since there are currently no ways (other than A New Beginning) to target set aside fortresses.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
-
how can you attack with a character if its stuck inside goshen? or did you mean band to it and then attack with it?
-
With Goshen, the protection is negated, so other abilities (like banding) could allow the Heroes to "get out."
-
Hey,
how can you attack with a character if its stuck inside goshen? or did you mean band to it and then attack with it?
Cards in Goshen (or Storehouse for that matter) aren't "stuck" there, they simply are there and can't use the ability of the fortress to get out of the fortress because the ability of the fortress is negated. Any other ability or game rule that allows you to move a card can target a card in a negated fortress and potentially move it out of the fortress.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
-
i understand that, but did you mean a hero can outright attack from goshen to get it out?
-
No, a banding card would have to be played.
-
thats what i thought, but tim made it sound like you can attack straight from the goshen by game rule to get it out.
-
Hey,
i understand that, but did you mean a hero can outright attack from goshen to get it out?
I believe so. You can start a battle by moving a character from your territory into the field of battle. A character in Goshen is in your territory so why couldn't you move it into battle to start a rescue attempt? (The reason you normally cannot attack with a character out of Goshen is because Goshen's ability restricts you from doing anything that would take the hero out of Goshen by anything other than Goshen's ability, but in this case Goshen's ability is negated.)
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
-
Aren't cards in a fortress that doesn't have rules for addition/removal only able to be removed/added during the prep. phase? How is the negating the ability to remove it any different than the a fortress that doesn't describe when to add or remove them?
-
Hey,
i understand that, but did you mean a hero can outright attack from goshen to get it out?
I believe so. You can start a battle by moving a character from your territory into the field of battle. A character in Goshen is in your territory so why couldn't you move it into battle to start a rescue attempt? (The reason you normally cannot attack with a character out of Goshen is because Goshen's ability restricts you from doing anything that would take the hero out of Goshen by anything other than Goshen's ability, but in this case Goshen's ability is negated.)
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
ah, thats what i thought you were trying to say. thanks for the clarification.
-
So if the SA of Raider's Camp is negated, the captured heroes go into the territory?
-
So if the SA of Raider's Camp is negated, the captured heroes go into the territory?
Are there any cards that negate the SA of an evil fortress? IoJ targets a good fortress.
-
i think hes speaking hypothetically.
-
So if the SA of Raider's Camp is negated, the captured heroes go into the territory?
Are there any cards that negate the SA of an evil fortress? IoJ targets a good fortress.
Spreading Mildew, a gold enhancement that everyone except players who use Egyptians forget.
-
Spreading Mildew, a gold enhancement that everyone except players who use Egyptians forget.
SM doesn't really count in this case because it doesn't cause the same situation as IoJ since SM specifically states all cards in the fortress are returned to hands.
-
Hey,
Aren't cards in a fortress that doesn't have rules for addition/removal only able to be removed/added during the prep. phase? How is the negating the ability to remove it any different than the a fortress that doesn't describe when to add or remove them?
All cards that can hold other cards have abilities for addition/removal (it's just that some of the time it's not very explicit). The default of during the prep phase is a default that applies to the abilities on the fortresses themselves.
So if the SA of Raider's Camp is negated, the captured heroes go into the territory?
If the special ability of Raiders' Camp is negated the captured heroes just stay where they are.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly