Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SignoftheStar on November 01, 2011, 01:00:56 PM

Title: Ignore Question
Post by: SignoftheStar on November 01, 2011, 01:00:56 PM
Take the following situation, if you will:

Start Rescue Attempt with Queen of Sheba (5/4)
Opponent blocks with Panic Demon (Crimson) (2/4)
Panic Demon has initiative: plays Demonic Deception (Return H in play to top of owner's deck. Cannot be prevented if used by demon.) Declares Queen of Sheba as target.

Queen of Sheba is Losing by Removal and has initiative.
At this point, can Royal Parade be activated? (If used by royalty, interrupt battle and ignore selected EC.)

If Panic Demon is ignored, then it is no longer blocking. And if it is no longer blocking, then you can't activate Enhancements on it. So if it were ignored, then Panic Demon is not blocking, which means Demonic Deception is not activating.

Right?

Or am I delusional?
Title: Re: Ignore Question
Post by: Red Wing on November 01, 2011, 01:08:27 PM
Take the following situation, if you will:

Start Rescue Attempt with Queen of Sheba (5/4)
Opponent blocks with Panic Demon (Crimson) (2/4)
Panic Demon has initiative: plays Demonic Deception (Return H in play to top of owner's deck. Cannot be prevented if used by demon.) Declares Queen of Sheba as target.

Queen of Sheba is Losing by Removal and has initiative.
At this point, can Royal Parade be activated? (If used by royalty, interrupt battle and ignore selected EC.)

Yes, Royal Parade does activate, because it Interrupts the battle.

If Panic Demon is ignored, then it is no longer blocking. And if it is no longer blocking, then you can't activate Enhancements on it. So if it were ignored, then Panic Demon is not blocking, which means Demonic Deception is not activating.

Right?

Or am I delusional?
Even if the Panic Demon is being Ignored, it's still blocking.

REG definition of Block
Blocking is the attempt to prevent a rescue. Only Evil Characters may block. Whenever an Evil Character enters the Field of Battle against a Hero (regardless of what point the battle is), that is considered a block.

However, Demonic deception wouldn't activate, because the hero is Ignoring the evil character, it cannot be harmed unless the Evil Character can negate or interrupt the ignore enhancement.

REG definition of Ignore
Ignore is a special ability that protects a card from being defeated, harmed, or affected by the ignored card. It also prevents the card with ignore from harming or affecting the ignored card. An ignore card stops an ignored character from entering the Field of Battle. An ignore ability can be a successful blocking or rescuing card. Ignore is the same as “has no effect” and repel.
Title: Re: Ignore Question
Post by: SignoftheStar on November 01, 2011, 01:12:39 PM
Ok, so if an EC is being ignored, then all EE activated on that EC are being ignored as well.

That is something I was never completely sure of. Thank very, very much for your swift response!

But also, it does say in the definition of ignore in the 10th Anniversary Rulebook:
An ignore card stops an ignored character from entering the Field of Battle.

So that's where part of my reasoning came from.

Regardless, you answered my question, and for that I am very, very grateful. Thanks again!
Title: Re: Ignore Question
Post by: Red Wing on November 01, 2011, 01:23:15 PM
Ok, so if an EC is being ignored, then all EE activated on that EC are being ignored as well.

That is something I was never completely sure of. Thank very, very much for your swift response!

But also, it does say in the definition of ignore in the 10th Anniversary Rulebook:
An ignore card stops an ignored character from entering the Field of Battle.

So that's where part of my reasoning came from.

Regardless, you answered my question, and for that I am very, very grateful. Thanks again!
The rulebook is correct, but only if the Ignore card is played before the evil character enters battle. For example, player 1 makes a rescue a with John with The Garden Tomb (TGT) in play. Player 2 has a redeemed Lost soul and only one brown evil character, so he cannot block since TGT makes John ignore that evil character.

The Garden Tomb: If opponent has a redeemed Lost Soul, then Mary Magdilene, Joanna, Mary the Mother of James, Peter, Salome, and John Ignore all Evil brigades that do not have at least two evil characters in play. 

Title: Re: Ignore Question
Post by: SignoftheStar on November 01, 2011, 01:25:50 PM
OOOOOOooooh, that makes sense, doesn't it?

Man, am I glad I joined this forum.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal