Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: joeychips on March 10, 2014, 12:50:32 PM
-
If I use SOG with NJ can I rescue my own Ls? The new ruling says you can't rescue your own Ls, however NJ says rescues ANY Ls in play.
-
Despite the fact that the cards say "any" and "a" (which, by every other default, means any in play) the ruling you mentioned trumps that. At no time can you rescue a Lost Soul from your own Land of Bondage, regardless of what any card says.
-
Thanks! Now I will take NJ out of my deck and replace it with Mayhem.
-
Thanks! Now I will take NJ out of my deck and replace it with Mayhem.
You probably do not want to do this.
-
Why not? I hardly ever get SoG with NJ. Plus my deck is 63 cards so the likelihood of it happening is small.
-
Well why not have both?
-
Why not? I hardly ever get SoG with NJ. Plus my deck is 63 cards so the likelihood of it happening is small.
NJ gives you a free soul. If you can play it with SoG, there is nothing that your opponent can do to stop it. Just SoG by itself gets you 20% of the way to victory (T1 obviously) - adding NJ to the play gets you 40% of the way there. No other two-card combo guarantees you anywhere near that much in terms of actually winning a game. If the size of your deck is keeping you from pairing the two, and you want to more consistently win games, I would recommend trimming your deck size. I'd write more about deckbuilding here, but that's kinda off topic for this sub-forum ;)
As for the original question, Browarod is completely correct.
-
Also, you could add cards that help you go through your deck faster, or cards that can search for SoG.
-
Thanks guys, that helps me a lot!