Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Praeceps on January 23, 2015, 05:26:46 PM

Title: Idol question
Post by: Praeceps on January 23, 2015, 05:26:46 PM
If I have Abomb active in my opponents territory, is an Idol in play?

Table of Demons - Search deck for an evil Fortress and play it. If an Idol is in play, negate and underdeck a Hero and an Artifact.
Title: Re: Idol question
Post by: Redoubter on January 23, 2015, 05:51:25 PM
Abomb depicts an idol.  However, is it an 'idol'?  Obviously cards that 'depict an idol' cannot all be idols, because we have cards like Jacob Buries the Foreign gods that has them in the image, and thus it 'depicts an idol', but if it were played in battle and then Table of Demons were played in battle, it wouldn't count for the condition on Table.  It also does not discard itself (since it discards idols).

So, the question then is what counts as an idol.  Can an enhancement count as one?  I'm not so sure, and I feel that it must be an artifact to be an idol instead of just depicting one.  However, the term 'abomination' here is used generally to refer to the actual idol, not to any sort of 'presence' or 'being' and thus it would not make sense to exclude Abomb from inclusion.

There is not currently a definition for 'idol' just for the depiction.  I think we need one for the REG.

For a ruling...I'd personally say that it is an idol, despite it being an enhancement, but I would like to hear what other Elders have to say.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal