Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: adotson85 on April 06, 2010, 09:39:10 PM
-
Are you allowed to retrieve Scarlet Line from your discard pile using I Am Love? I would think not, but I know "can not be blocked" is the same thing as "ignore."
I Am Love
Type: Covenant • Brigade: White • Ability: 3 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: If a human Evil Character (except warrior class) is blocking your Hero, interrupt the battle and search discard pile for a white brigade enhancement with "ignore" in the special ability and play it. Limit once per turn. • Identifiers: NT • Verse: I John 4:8 • Availability: Angel Wars booster packs (Common)
Scarlet Line
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: White • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Female Heroes cannot be blocked by a male Evil Character this battle. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Joshua 2:18 • Availability: Women booster packs (Uncommon)
-
sadly, no.
-
+1 Although they may mean the same thing, the words don't change.
-
from proffAlstad Also told me
I AM Love + I Am Truth don't work together
Can some one please confir or deny (deny is preffered)
-
If you are using Book of the Covenant or some other means of simultaneously activating I am Love and I am Truth then they work just fine together.
Did Prof Alstad give a reason for his claim?
-
one say's
cards with ignores in the special ability can't be negated.
the other says if blocked by a human ec not wc the search discard pile for a card with ignore in the sa, and play it.
Ignores are the old Ignores single birgade
the ignore are the newer ones like No need for spices
-
I am Truth SA Good enhancements with "ignore" in the special ability cannot be negated by evil cards.
I am Love SA If a human Evil Character (except warrior class) is blocking your Hero, interrupt the battle and search discard pile for a white brigade enhancement with "ignore" in the special ability and play it. Limit once per turn.
Since both say "enhancement with 'ignore' in the special ability" I don't see the difference you are talking about.
-
okay i got the cards Out
I am Love : If human evil Chareter (except Warrior Class) is blocking your hero inturrpt the battl and search discard pile for a white birgade enhancement with ignores in specail ability and play it. Limit Once per turn.
I am Truth: Good Enhacnements with Ignore in the specail ability cannot be negated by evil cards.
No Need for Spices Negate immunity. Femal N>T heroes ignore one evil birgade in battle.
So according to the proff's reasoning NNFS works with I am Truth but Not I am Love
-
Is I am Love incorrectly worded in the REG? It says "ignore," while the card actually reads "ignores."
I Am Love
Type: Covenant • Brigade: White • Ability: 3 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: If a human Evil Character (except warrior class) is blocking your Hero, interrupt the battle and search discard pile for a white brigade enhancement with "ignore" in the special ability and play it. Limit once per turn. • Identifiers: NT • Verse: I John 4:8 • Availability: Angel Wars booster packs (Common)
See also:
-
redemption101, your quotes aren't 100% correct. Look at the quotes EmJay posted.
NNFS works with both, how can it not? I am Love/Truth are worded the exact same way. It's a great combo and a fun off strategy for new players.
Is I am Love incorrectly worded in the REG? It says "ignore," while the card actually reads "ignores."
I Am Love
Type: Covenant • Brigade: White • Ability: 3 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: If a human Evil Character (except warrior class) is blocking your Hero, interrupt the battle and search discard pile for a white brigade enhancement with "ignore" in the special ability and play it. Limit once per turn. • Identifiers: NT • Verse: I John 4:8 • Availability: Angel Wars booster packs (Common)
REG > real card. "ignore" is correct
-
Thats what I thought, but there is usually a play as or errata for changes to the card wording.
-
thanks for the clarification, i was about to bust apart a type 2 deck with that strat. After I was told that it didn't work. :)
-
redemption101, your quotes aren't 100% correct. Look at the quotes EmJay posted.
NNFS works with both, how can it not? I am Love/Truth are worded the exact same way. It's a great combo and a fun off strategy for new players.
Is I am Love incorrectly worded in the REG? It says "ignore," while the card actually reads "ignores."
I Am Love
Type: Covenant • Brigade: White • Ability: 3 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: If a human Evil Character (except warrior class) is blocking your Hero, interrupt the battle and search discard pile for a white brigade enhancement with "ignore" in the special ability and play it. Limit once per turn. • Identifiers: NT • Verse: I John 4:8 • Availability: Angel Wars booster packs (Common)
REG > real card. "ignore" is correct
I disagree. The REG has to say Errata for such a change to be true; the REG is in error. So until one of the two receives an errata, I would rule at a tournament that they do not work together.
(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.redemptionreg.com%2FREG%2FLinkedDocuments%2FI%2520Am%2520Love%2520%28AW%29.gif&hash=fc3402519df8ecddbf2430a7fe47cee5a6993579) (https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.redemptionreg.com%2FREG%2FLinkedDocuments%2FI%2520Am%2520Truth%2520%28AW%29.gif&hash=15e0b7f194cc99fdc588cce1b21ef36173e03562)
-
The REG has to say Errata for such a change to be true
I disagree. The lines have been blurred between "play as" and "errata" for a long time. In addition, the REG is the superior resource as it contains more up-to-date information than the printed card, which never changes. Unless the REG is specifically ruled to be in error, I believe it trumps the printed card. It always has.
-
The REG has to say Errata for such a change to be true
I disagree. The lines have been blurred between "play as" and "errata" for a long time.
Well neither I am Love or I am Truth have a Play As or an Errata, so I'm not seeing your point here.
In addition, the REG is the superior resource as it contains more up-to-date information than the printed card, which never changes.
Anytime the REG "updates" what a printed card does, it does so with Errata or a Play As. Again, neither of the covenants has either of those.
Unless the REG is specifically ruled to be in error, I believe it trumps the printed card. It always has.
When has the REG ever trumped what's written on the card in the absence of Errata? Also, it would be a very easy mistake to make typographically, especially since everyone has assumed they work together since they came out. But now specific wording is really important (which is why "placed" enhancements don't work with High Places). Based on this, and the fact that there are several errors left in the REG that haven't been fixed, I would rule in favor of what the card says.
-
I agree, if the REG is correct, it should say Play As/Errara. I also agree that there is a chance that the REG is in error, since as you mentioned, it would be a very easy typo.
However, I still believe the REG > card until we hear something different. Assuming a higher authority is in error as a basis for overruling it is a slippery slope and IMO shouldn't be done unless the error is obvious and/or acknowledged.
-
I gotta side with prof, since the placed ruling it has not worked.
-
Assuming a higher authority is in error as a basis for overruling it is a slippery slope and IMO shouldn't be done unless the error is obvious and/or acknowledged.
If President Obama said you were a woman, would that make you a woman?
The error is obvious--it says something different from what the card says with no errata or play as.
-
If President Obama said you were a woman, would that make you a woman?
:-*
...unless the error is obvious...
The error is obvious--it says something different from what the card says with no errata or play as.
You very well may be right, but it could also be that they fixed the printed mistake and simply forgot to add the "play as/errata" indicator. I've seen other cards where the REG's ability is different than the printed ability without a mention of "play as" or "errata".
I'm fine with either way this is ruled (I'd actually prefer your view), but I just think that assuming that the REG is incorrect is a bad precedent.
-
...Obama...is a bad precedent.
Hey now, no need to get political here. Save that for the Open Discussion...
Either way, the REG is incorrect; it's either missing an "s" or missing the word Errata. So assuming it is incorrect isn't really a huge leap. Also, if there are other cards that say something different from the REG, then I would still go with the printed card over the REG if no errata exists. Neither the REG nor the printed cards are perfect, but there are tons of cards that have been printed that don't work as originally thought or intended (Split Altar, Goshen, etc.). I don't see why this would be different.
-
actually, i think it was ruled cards like leprosy still work with high places.
-
Prof Alstad is correct, I am Truth and I am Love will not work together. I apologize for causing confusion; I didn't realize the REG's version of I am Love's SA was incorrect.
Cameron, in this case I am Love would require an errata to work with I am Truth because you are actually changing the SA (as opposed to clarifying). There is no such errata in the official list so I am dubious that one exists.
actually, i think it was ruled cards like leprosy still work with high places.
No, it was ruled the opposite. High Places only works with cards that have the exact word "place" (i.e., not "placed" or "displace" or "replace" or...) in their special ability. Thus saith the Bryon...
the ability should have to contain the character string "[space]place[space]" to satisfy the ability of High Places.
That means that a card that says, "...placed..." would not be able to be played via High Places?
Correct. The playtesters looked at the lsit and decided that "place" would be the best way to go. We didn't want some of the other cards played out of battle.