Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: The Schaefer on June 09, 2016, 11:20:37 PM

Title: I am love question
Post by: The Schaefer on June 09, 2016, 11:20:37 PM
I was just curious is it even possible for I am love to ever interrupt the battle if used as an artifact? As an enhancement the card makes sense but as an artifact I'm confused a bit. Can you only use it as an artifact when you have initiative but not special initiative?

I am Love

If a human Evil Character (except warrior class) is blocking your Hero, interrupt the battle and search discard pile for a white brigade enhancement with "ignores" in the special ability and play it. Limit once per turn.

Also the Wiki entry seems to be incorrect in that it says "ignores" and not ignore.
Title: Re: I am love question
Post by: Redoubter on June 10, 2016, 12:29:09 AM
First, it still interrupts the battle, no matter what.  That interrupts the last card, if played in battle by an opponent, and all ongoing effects on cards played in battle, so the ItB still does something.

The artifact cannot be triggered during SI, no.  However, you don't actually need initiative to activate it (because it doesn't say so), so you can activate it immediately upon being blocked or at any point during the block when other abilities are not resolving.

The Wiki entry is indeed incorrect on the SA; this card only searches for cards that specifically have "ignores" in the SA, not an ignore ability.
Title: Re: I am love question
Post by: The Schaefer on June 10, 2016, 01:03:13 AM
I knew you didn't need initiative to use it but I just wanted to see the extent of the cards ability. It's quite good now.

Edit. Rereading my original post I think I'm just confusing myself with special initiative and trying to apply it to initiative as a whole. I don't know why I even asked if it can ever interrupt the battle at all. Lapse in common sense.
Title: Re: I am love question
Post by: Josh on June 10, 2016, 08:07:19 AM
The artifact cannot be triggered during SI, no.  However, you don't actually need initiative to activate it (because it doesn't say so), so you can activate it immediately upon being blocked or at any point during the block when other abilities are not resolving.

I was looking at this card recently, and not only do you not need initiative to activate it, based on the wording you have to use it once its condition is met.  Here is the ability:

I Am Love - "If a human Evil Character (except warrior class) is blocking your Hero, interrupt the battle and search discard pile for a white brigade enhancement with “ignores” in the special ability and play it. Limit once per turn."
Title: Re: I am love question
Post by: Minister Polarius on June 22, 2016, 10:47:23 AM
Because of the grammar on the card, "if" should be read as "while," and it is an outgoing ability with an activated trigger which is predicated on the "if" and not a mandatory instant ability with a trigger like it seems.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal