Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Kevinthedude on September 09, 2016, 09:08:10 PM

Title: I Am Creator
Post by: Kevinthedude on September 09, 2016, 09:08:10 PM
So in a recent game I had a question came up with I Am Creator.
IaC: "If you do not have a Hero in your territory or set-aside area, then search draw pile for a Hero and put it in your territory. Cannot be interrupted. Limit once during each of your turns."
My opponent activated it with one hero in his territory, attacked with the hero, (Leaving an empty territory), and searched for a hero with it now that his only existing hero was in battle. My understanding was that IaC had to happen when the artifact was activated and not just any time it is up. Which way does it work?
Title: Re: I Am Creator
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 09, 2016, 09:12:37 PM
And to run on these coattails, that situation raised a question that afaik has never directly come up before: are "if" and "when" different in Redemption under otherwise identical grammatical circumstances? Furthermore, how does "while" relate to each of them?
Title: Re: I Am Creator
Post by: Gabe on September 09, 2016, 09:25:24 PM
"If" and "When" are used interchangeably to indicate a one time event occurring. Ex: If blocked, you may... Indicates that you can perform an ability exactly after the block takes place.

"While" is used to indicate an ongoing event. Ex: While your dude is blocking, you may... Indicates that as long as dude is in battle against a Hero there is an ability you can complete.

Back to I Am Creator. After Nationals 2009 it was ruled to be a one time event that takes place upon activation of the card. If used as an Artifact, that opportunity happens during your prep phase. As far as I know that's still accurate.
Title: Re: I Am Creator
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 09, 2016, 09:28:44 PM
Ok but then why isn't Darius' Decree?
Title: Re: I Am Creator
Post by: Kevinthedude on September 09, 2016, 09:32:14 PM
"If" and "When" are used interchangeably to indicate a one time event occurring. Ex: If blocked, you may... Indicates that you can perform an ability exactly after the block takes place.

Are If and When completely interchangeable? I thought for something like Dutiful Priest who triggers with "If blocked..." only happens once the first time that battle he is blocked but for something like The Throne of David "When your purple King is blocked..." which triggers each time a blocker enters battle, even if it is multiple times in a single battle.

Also for something like Foreign Wives there is a huge difference between two since the current If requires the draw to have already happened while a when would (or at least should) enable her to gain the protection after already entering.
Title: Re: I Am Creator
Post by: Gabe on September 09, 2016, 09:38:48 PM
Pol, you lost me. What about DD?

Dutiful Priest and Throne should work the same.

Foreign Wives does require the cards to be drawn prior to her block.
Title: Re: I Am Creator
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 09, 2016, 10:34:42 PM
Darius' Decree is an instant ability, same as I Am Creator, yet that's been ruled to work at a point other than when it is activated even though IAC activates on a condition that can change dynamically and DD is a vanilla ability.
Title: Re: I Am Creator
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 14, 2016, 08:29:26 PM
Hello?
Title: Re: I Am Creator
Post by: Professoralstad on September 14, 2016, 08:58:21 PM
The key word is "may". DD says you may discard it, which means you can do so at any time it is active, similar to Holy Grail. IaC does not have a may, which means you have to perform the ability when it becomes active. Is that the way it should be? Maybe, maybe not. But it would go against a lot of precedent to change it.
Title: Re: I Am Creator
Post by: Watchman on September 14, 2016, 09:41:45 PM
I believe, based upon the title of the card and why it was created (no pun intended), that the intent of the card was to generate a hero when there wasn't one in hand or territory for a rescue attempt/BC.  There have been times, particularly in the early stages of the game, when I had a "hero drought" but had GEs in hand and my opponent had LSs in his territory when this card would have definitely come in handy had I drawn it.  Personally, I'm glad the ruling was for the SA to be resolved once activated.
Title: Re: I Am Creator
Post by: Gabe on September 15, 2016, 10:23:53 AM
Hello?

Sorry, I wasn't ignoring you but forgot to come back to this. Prof A covered it though.
Title: Re: I Am Creator
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 16, 2016, 01:38:56 AM
That's really the reasoning? Yuck. If it is, where is it in the rules?
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal