Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: BubbleBoy on January 31, 2010, 09:46:01 AM

Title: Hypothetically...
Post by: BubbleBoy on January 31, 2010, 09:46:01 AM
...if there were an evil WC enhancement with "place" in the special ability, could you play it on a WC character with high places and be able to use the SA right away, but then keep it on the character because of its weaponness (assuming the "place" in the SA does not relocate the enhancement)?

I probably could have worded that better, but hopefully you will understand what I mean.
Title: Re: Hypothetically...
Post by: Bryon on January 31, 2010, 10:57:35 AM
Hmm.  I am not sure about that.  I think you are correct.  You can play a weapon on your character in the prep phase, and its ability does not activate until it enters battle.  HP gets around that by allowing the enhancement to be played by the HP rules, rather than the weapon rules.  But then, do you get to choose to keep it at that point?

The time that you choose whether to keep a weapon enhancement on a character is as it leaves battle.  Normally, you can place the weapon on the EC in territory, but you are playing it as a weapon (for attachment, not to use its special ability).  So, it stays since it was played by weapon rules.  But if you play it for immediate effect, like a regular enhancement it battle, then you decide as the EC leaves battle whether or not you'd like to keep that weapon on the EC.

Which is correct:

1) The weapon feature of remaining on the WC character ALWAYS works when the weapon is played, and you choose whether to keep it ANY time it would be discarded by game rule.

OR

2) You only keep it when placed as a weapon (not for effect) outside of battle, and when played for effect inside of battle you choose as the character returns to territory (when all other enhancements from battle are discarded).

It seems like option 1 is simplest.  And, barring any broken combos, simplest is usually best.
Title: Re: Hypothetically...
Post by: BubbleBoy on January 31, 2010, 11:43:27 AM
Cool. Can we have some WC "place" enhancements now? ;D
Title: Re: Hypothetically...
Post by: YourMathTeacher on January 31, 2010, 02:28:33 PM
For that question, the simplest answer is also the best:

No.
Title: Re: Hypothetically...
Post by: browarod on January 31, 2010, 02:55:06 PM
For that question, the simplest answer is also the best:

No.
But, but, I had a great idea:

Burden of Sin
[Pale Green Evil Enhancement | Weapon-class | 2/3]
You may place your evil character on a hero in a territory. While it remains, negate the special ability of that hero, their heroes and Covenants with the same brigade, and any good fortresses that hero could occupy. Opponent may discard a hero or Covenant from hand discard one evil character placed by this ability on a hero of matching brigade. This ability may be used by High Places once per turn.
Title: Re: Hypothetically...
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on January 31, 2010, 05:57:47 PM
XD except no one would ever use it. It costs an ec to use, and they don't lose much to negate it. And they have a limit so ya can't spam it.
Title: Re: Hypothetically...
Post by: browarod on February 01, 2010, 01:09:45 AM
XD except no one would ever use it. It costs an ec to use, and they don't lose much to negate it. And they have a limit so ya can't spam it.
I changed it a little. Better?
Title: Re: Hypothetically...
Post by: Minister Polarius on February 01, 2010, 02:04:17 AM
"Once per turn, you may Place your Evil Character (I'd rather it be Demon) on a Hero in territory. While it remains, Negate the Special Ability of all Heroes of Hero's Brigade and all Fortresses that could hold Hero. Owner may Discard a Hero or Covenant matching that Hero's Brigade to Discard placed Evil Character."

Still clunky, but a bit better.
Title: Re: Hypothetically...
Post by: browarod on February 01, 2010, 02:05:55 AM
"Once per turn, you may Place your Evil Character (I'd rather it be Demon) on a Hero in territory. While it remains, Negate the Special Ability of all Heroes of selected Hero's Brigade and all Fortresses that could hold Hero. Owner may Discard a Hero or Covenant matching that Hero's Brigade to Discard placed Evil Character."

Still clunky, but a bit better.
I was more concerned about the idea as a whole than exactly how it should be worded, but thanks :P
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal