Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Warrior_Monk on August 17, 2010, 08:23:03 PM
-
do lost souls SAs begin before or after you draw your replacement card?
-
I kind of worry why you're asking this, but as far as I know, you draw the LS, put it in play, it activates immediately, and you draw the replacement. If you're asking about the "prevent draw abilities" LS it doesn't stop you from continuing the draw, as the draw ability can't be prevented at that point. If you're asking for the purposes of some game-breaking combo, well, God help us all.
-
Okay, so souls activate.
Lets say theoretically a game rule allows me to play an enhancement (in this scenario ANB) after drawing a soul but before drawing a replacement card. *I'm 99.9999999999999999% sure no game rule currently allows that*. ANB would end my turn, does that mean I was effectively 'cheated' out of those replacement cards, beings I can't draw them next turn?
Don't just say 'well, it can't happen so it doesn't matter'. Pretend it can happen.
EDIT: ANB says 'if making a rescue attempt', so pretend I'm in battle and play Reach of Desperation and draw a soul.
-
A soul activates when it's put into play, which is immediate. Also immediate is the drawing of the next card.
Which leads us to the question: can you interrupt either?
-
Interrupt? Unlikely. But all special abilities are is an exemption to game rules. If a card were to say "after drawing a soul, but before drawing a replacement card, you may play an enhancement from hand and it activates even if you aren't in battle" then yeah, I'd say it works.
So, guys, lets just pretend....
-
let's pretend that there is a new game rule that says "drawing a replacement card must immediately happen before a lost soul ability activates to prevent game breaking combos"
it doesn't exist now, but let's pretend. who knows... it may happen in the future : -P
*end sarcasm*
-
I kind of worry why you're asking this, but as far as I know, you draw the LS, put it in play, it activates immediately, and you draw the replacement.
I agree with Prof on this because this is what is supposed to happen. If this isnt what happens something needs to be changed asap.
-
Okay, so souls activate.
Lets say theoretically a game rule allows me to play an enhancement (in this scenario ANB) after drawing a soul but before drawing a replacement card. *I'm 99.9999999999999999% sure no game rule currently allows that*. ANB would end my turn, does that mean I was effectively 'cheated' out of those replacement cards, beings I can't draw them next turn?
Don't just say 'well, it can't happen so it doesn't matter'. Pretend it can happen.
EDIT: ANB says 'if making a rescue attempt', so pretend I'm in battle and play Reach of Desperation and draw a soul.
Yes, you would be 'cheated' out of the replacement cards. Which probably wouldn't matter since we all know all cards are shuffled by ANB anyway...
-
Unless I'm protecting my hand from shuffle wink wink.
-
Yes, you would be 'cheated' out of the replacement cards. Which probably wouldn't matter since we all know all cards are shuffled by ANB anyway...
So you're saying ending the turn with a SA ends all pending game rules?
-
I would rule that if it comes down to it LS abilities activate after the replacement cards are drawn, because new abilities can't activate until all abilities complete, and while drawing replacements isn't really an ability, I think its more of a game rule that is always active and it basically is part of the draw ability (or game rule in draw for the turn) so you couldn't insert a LS ability until after you finish drawing, which means replacing cards.
Basically I'm treating LS as not counting toward the number of cards drawn so its not a triggered ability but just what happens
-
im not sure but i think its a replace ability
-
Hey,
do lost souls SAs begin before or after you draw your replacement card?
You must complete the draw before you can activate an ability. The draw is not completed until the replacement card is drawn, so the lost soul's ability activates after the replacement card is drawn (and if you drew the lost soul because of Reach of Desperation, the play next ability would also activate before the lost soul allowing you to play prosperity and draw from it also before the lost soul's ability kicked in).
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly