Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: sepjazzwarrior on June 15, 2018, 04:00:45 PM

Title: humble
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on June 15, 2018, 04:00:45 PM
both my opponent and I have 6 cards in hand and I have out humble.  they RA with a FBTN hero, I block from territory and play a EE, taking my hand lower than theirs.  is my EE CNP or not?
Title: Re: humble
Post by: kariusvega on June 15, 2018, 04:10:32 PM
It is cbp
Title: Re: humble
Post by: bluefrog1288 on June 15, 2018, 04:13:13 PM
Yup, cause the hero is trying to prevent the ability before it happens. Unless LSes are being negated.  Is that correct?

My first attempt at answering a ruling I think I understand :p
Title: Re: humble
Post by: Bobbert on June 15, 2018, 04:20:50 PM
Yup, cause the hero is trying to prevent the ability before it happens. Unless LSes are being negated.  Is that correct?

My first attempt at answering a ruling I think I understand :p

Close. Abilities that grant modifiers are CBN, so Humble works even if souls are being negated.
Title: Re: humble
Post by: bluefrog1288 on June 15, 2018, 04:39:25 PM
Ohh dang. That’s good to know.
Title: Re: humble
Post by: TheHobbit13 on June 15, 2018, 04:54:30 PM
I'm not so sure it would be cbp, because humble can't insert itself between abilities to "check" the condition. Like if I exchange in Moses which would be enough brigades to trigger punisher, Moses negates punisher first.
Title: Re: humble
Post by: kariusvega on June 15, 2018, 05:41:47 PM
The condition checks at the moment the card is played and the ability is carried out after, in the case of humble modified there after.

Same goes for brown Wickedness Abounds.
Title: Re: humble
Post by: Kevinthedude on June 15, 2018, 05:42:41 PM
I'm not so sure it would be cbp, because humble can't insert itself between abilities to "check" the condition. Like if I exchange in Moses which would be enough brigades to trigger punisher, Moses negates punisher first.

Humble "checks" whenever a character ability tries to activate. The character has to have left your hand before it's ability can try to activate, therefore humble will always see your hand as not having the EC in it.
Title: Re: humble
Post by: TheHobbit13 on June 15, 2018, 06:30:12 PM
There's no time in between playing a card and it's ability activating so unless humble can insert itself between abilities than I still don't see why the enhancement would be cpb in this case.
Title: Re: humble
Post by: Kevinthedude on June 15, 2018, 06:46:11 PM
There's no time in between playing a card and it's ability activating so unless humble can insert itself between abilities than I still don't see why the enhancement would be cpb in this case.

There is no inserting going on. When an ability activates it checks for anything granting it a modifier. It sees humble and in turn humble sees you have a hand size equal to whatever is left after the EC is gone.

Redemption doesn't have things nailed down into categories like "instant speed" and "state-based actions" so assumptions made using those concepts are often faulty.
Title: Re: humble
Post by: Gabe on June 15, 2018, 09:05:39 PM
The coney brothers are correct.  8)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal