Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Red on July 26, 2016, 12:52:10 AM

Title: How does targeting work?
Post by: Red on July 26, 2016, 12:52:10 AM
I block a royal character with a magician. I play invoking terror. Royal parade off SI, can I retarget since the original target is no longer valid?
Title: Re: How does targeting work?
Post by: Redoubter on July 26, 2016, 07:02:58 AM
No, not for an instant ability:

Quote from: REG 3.1.0 > Special Abilities > Types and Definitions > Instant Ability
Instant abilities are special abilities that complete when the card is played or otherwise activated, and do not have ongoing effects. Any instant ability whose effects resolved in a previously completed phase, even during the same turn, cannot be interrupted or negated. Effects that complete in a phase can only be undone in the phase they completed.
An instant ability chooses its targets at the time it is activated. If an instant ability is prevented from activating, then it cannot choose a target. Even if the ability that stopped it from activating is later negated, the instant ability still cannot activate because no target was initially chosen and the target cannot change.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal