Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Rawrlolsauce! on October 29, 2010, 05:11:31 PM
-
http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=23760.0 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=23760.0) is the thread that made me wonder this. An elder has posted on that thread, I just wanna clear some stuff up.
Saint of Virtue (Ki)
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Purple • Ability: 8 / 2 • Class: None • Special Ability: Saint of Virtue may keep one enhancement with a reference from Ephesians 6 until Hero is discarded. This Hero is the same gender as this card's owner. • Play As: Holder may place one Ephesians 6 enhancement, regardless of brigade on Hero until Hero is discarded [use other enhancements]. • Identifiers: Generic NT Male
Female Human • Verse: II Peter 1:3 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Uncommon)
1.) So, I make a RA with my SOV. Can I place whatever the silver/green ignore card is that I can't remember the name of on him? I know it won't activate.
2.) I RA with my GREEN SOV. Can I play the aforementioned enhancement pre block? (And then it activates?)
Thanks.
-
HAHA! Spiritual Warfare. Now I remember.
-
1: Yes
2: Not pre-block but it can hold it after
-
"Holder may place an enhancement on SOV....."
That seems like it should work pre block.....
-
agree, i dont see any reason it wouldnt work pre-block based on the play-as.
-
I have no idea why that Play As is there, that's not at all how SoV should be/has been played...I'm not sure how that happened. It is possible to get SoV to hold Spiritual Warfare, but not that easy.
I'm also not sure why the identifier says SoV is male...
-
Thats a good point about the identifier. If I RA with SoV while CoM is up, is it both male and female? Thats just wrong, Cactus.
-
The gender portion of the SA is meant to be an identifier, I'm sure we can easily add that to the play as.
-
Identifiers: Generic NT Male
Female Human
The identifier is just split on two lines.
-
is Spiritual Warfare from Ephesians 6?
-
is Spiritual Warfare from Ephesians 6?
Yes indeed.
-
so do we play sov as the play-as suggests?
-
I have no idea why that Play As is there, that's not at all how SoV should be/has been played...I'm not sure how that happened
-
Always disregard "play-as" that's actually errata.
-
In order for SW to activate on SoV, Saint must be the same brigade as SW, right? You can't just use Cheribum and band to SoV and have it work because it wasn't placed on Cheribum, correct?
-
Always disregard "play-as" that's actually errata.
Except we have no possible way to know it is an errata unless we know the Redemption definition of "keeps" (not listed in the REG), especially when an elder seemed to indicate that it was indeed a place.
-
It's quite obvious that there's no possible way the original wording would be a "place" ability that would happen pre-block. The original wording is quite murky, but that "play-as" is clearly not just clearing up what it said in bad wording.
-
This is Redemption. I wouldn't be surprised if keep was a capture ability.
-
This is Redemption. I wouldn't be surprised if keep was a capture ability.
The REG would have to distinguish the verb "keep" with the noun "keep." A keep is more closely akin to a fortress.
-
So you can place Spiritual Warfare on a green Saint of Virtue before battle?
-
So then do you have to play it in battle, THEN it stays on SoV?
-
So you can place Spiritual Warfare on a green Saint of Virtue before battle?
Yes. With Tithe...
-
Yes. SoV allows you to play it pre battle. Don't listen to anyone on this thread but me, listen to the REG.
-
let me ask...
Can I place Spiritual Warfare on Saint of Virtue when I attack?
-
let me ask...
Can I place Spiritual Warfare on Saint of Virtue when I attack?
according to the play-as that is correct.
-
Disregard the errata disguised as a play-as.
-
Disregard the errata disguised as a play-as.
If you read the thread you'd see I argued that point.
Bottom line: ACCORDING TO THE REG, AND INSINUATED BY ONE ELDER, YOU CAN PLAY IT PRE BLOCK.
-
INSINUATED BY ONE ELDER, YOU CAN PLAY IT PRE BLOCK.
Since I am the only Elder to post in this thread, I assume you are referring to me. If I insinuated that you can play it Pre-Block, it was unintentional. The Play As is wrong, because if it worked that way, it would be errata. So it must be disregarded. That is unfortunately the only solution we have until the REG is fixed.
Saint of Virtue can retain an Ephesians 6 enhancement that was played on him/her legally in battle, according to the rules of initiative or a special ability like Tithe until the enhancement or SoV is discarded. It only activates during battle if a brigade of the enhancement matches a brigade SoV can play that battle.
-
^Not you. Justin in the other thread. He agrees that it is a place ability. And I'm reading it very liberally....
-
How is it an errata? Keep has not been defined.
-
I think Keep is a search ability. So, can I search my deck for Spiritual Warfare and then play it pre block?
-
How is it an errata? Keep has not been defined.
I don't think Regardless has been defined in Redemption terms either...but everyone understands what it does. It's not too much of a stretch to think that keep means exactly what you think it does, i.e. keep = retain. So SoV keeps the enhancement the same way Goliath can retain his spear.
-
How is it an errata? Keep has not been defined.
I don't think Regardless has been defined in Redemption terms either...but everyone understands what it does. It's not too much of a stretch to think that keep means exactly what you think it does, i.e. keep = retain. So SoV keeps the enhancement the same way Goliath can retain his spear.
It has. See my 100 post thread which Rob ended. Regardless means it overrides normal game rules.
-
....and keep means to retain......
-
and what does retain mean?
-
and what does retain mean?
..... to keep ....
-
and what does retain mean?
..... to keep ....
And if a keep is like a dungeon......
-
and what does retain mean?
..... to keep ....
And if a keep is like a dungeon......
A dungeon is a retainer.
-
and what does retain mean?
..... to keep ....
And if a keep is like a dungeon......
A dungeon is a retainer.
..... which straightens your teeth after braces....
-
Yes. They keep your teeth straight.
-
Yes. They keep your teeth straight.
yeah. you could say that this thread is crooked and needs a retainer
-
We just need to convert ourselves to purple and then get SoV in here to retain order.
-
We just need to convert ourselves to purple and then get SoV in here to retain order.
He can only retain Ephesians. I'm not sure there is still a city of Ephesus, so he may be irrelevant.
-
He can only retain Ephesians.
that came out weird
-
He can only retain Ephesians.
that came out weird
He has studied the other books of the New Testament, but he can only remember verses from Ephesians.
-
i see