Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: slugfencer on January 08, 2009, 10:23:35 PM

Title: House in Bethany + choose the blocker
Post by: slugfencer on January 08, 2009, 10:23:35 PM
 I have house in Bethany in play.....I rescue with my Luke hero, and I choose the blocker to have my opponent block with one of my demons, does that count for the Houses' effect to trigger?

House in Bethany
Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect contents from evil cards. If opponent's demon blocks your Luke or John Hero, reveal the top seven cards of opponent's deck. You may discard one revealed evil card or put a revealed Lost Soul in play. • Attributes: Holds up to three Heroes with a Luke or John reference • Identifiers: Holds up to three Heroes with a Luke or John reference •
Title: Re: House in Bethany + choose the blocker
Post by: Gabe on January 08, 2009, 11:33:43 PM
No, HoB does not trigger if you have them block with one of your demons.  They key word on HoB is "opponent's demon".  That means they have to both own and control the demon.  In your example they only control it, you still own it.

A similar situation came up with choose the bocker using Self and them playing Job Overcomes to force your opponent to discard 7.  Unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on which side of the table you're on) that doesn't work either.
Title: Re: House in Bethany + choose the blocker
Post by: DaClock on January 09, 2009, 12:02:11 AM
If you choose one of THEIR demons it works, but not if you choose one of your own.
Title: Re: House in Bethany + choose the blocker
Post by: Prof Underwood on January 09, 2009, 09:41:00 AM
If you choose one of THEIR demons it works, but not if you choose one of your own.
+1
Title: Re: House in Bethany + choose the blocker
Post by: lightningninja on January 09, 2009, 06:20:10 PM
I'll just remove my post so as not to draw any confusion... *cough**cough*  ;)
Title: Re: House in Bethany + choose the blocker
Post by: BubbleBoy on January 09, 2009, 06:48:23 PM
Now I'm confused because I don't know what post you're talking about! STOP DRAWING ATTENTION TO YOURSELF!!! :angel:
Title: Re: House in Bethany + choose the blocker
Post by: slugfencer on January 12, 2009, 08:49:13 PM
Thanks for the answer! :)
Title: Re: House in Bethany + choose the blocker
Post by: Captain Kirk on January 13, 2009, 01:52:37 AM
A similar situation came up with choose the bocker using Self and them playing Job Overcomes to force your opponent to discard 7.  Unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on which side of the table you're on) that doesn't work either.

Unless you use the combo to make it work...  ;)  My opponent was surely dismayed when I pulled it off...

Kirk
Title: Re: House in Bethany + choose the blocker
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on January 13, 2009, 02:35:30 AM
XD that combo is nastily fun.
Title: Re: House in Bethany + choose the blocker
Post by: BubbleBoy on January 13, 2009, 07:30:02 AM
Are there any ways to give your opponent an Evil Character?
Title: Re: House in Bethany + choose the blocker
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on January 13, 2009, 01:42:53 PM
Yes. :D
Title: Re: House in Bethany + choose the blocker
Post by: BubbleBoy on January 13, 2009, 04:50:58 PM
...Like...?
Title: Re: House in Bethany + choose the blocker
Post by: Tsavong Lah on January 13, 2009, 05:04:43 PM
It's very complicated and involves side battles, at least two separate rescue attempts (IIRC), and Seven Wicked Spirits. ;)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal