Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: theselfevident on November 09, 2011, 06:54:41 PM
-
When can you elect to do a conversion allowed by Holy Grail? Upon activation? or at any point during your turn?
-
When can you elect to do a conversion allowed by Holy Grail? Upon activation? or at any point during your turn?
At any point while its active (your or your opponent's turn). The one restriction is that you can't use it on an EC in battle.
-
When can you elect to do a conversion allowed by Holy Grail? Upon activation? or at any point during your turn?
At any point while its active (your or your opponent's turn). The one restriction is that you can't use it on an EC in battle.
what about if you use an enhancement during battle to activate holy grail while in battle. You still can't use holy grail to convert an evil character in battle???
-
what about if you use an enhancement during battle to activate holy grail while in battle. You still can't use holy grail to convert an evil character in battle???
No. The errata for Holy Grail says that the target has to be in a territory.
-
what about if you use an enhancement during battle to activate holy grail while in battle. You still can't use holy grail to convert an evil character in battle???
No. The errata for Holy Grail says that the target has to be in a territory.
Fair, but why is it errata'd that way?
-
To avoid abuse and auto-rescues.
-
To avoid abuse and auto-rescues.
CA- abuse and auto rescues with your new combo should be errata'd in that case... =)
-
Fair, but why is it errata'd that way?
There are not many ways to stop an artifact that is a battle winner, especially after the second use. Back in the day a game could have gone like this:
1st Rescue: I RA, you block with lone EC, I Holy Grail him.
2nd Rescue: I RA, you block with lone demon, I AotL him.
3rd Rescue: I RA, you block with lone EC, I Holy Grail him.
Then SoG/NJ for the win.
The game would be over in three turns.
-
Fair, but why is it errata'd that way?
There are not many ways to stop an artifact that is a battle winner, especially after the second use. Back in the day a game could have gone like this:
1st Rescue: I RA, you block with lone EC, I Holy Grail him.
2nd Rescue: I RA, you block with lone demon, I AotL him.
3rd Rescue: I RA, you block with lone EC, I Holy Grail him.
Then SoG/NJ for the win.
The game would be over in three turns.
However, today's game is considerably different than what it was with all of the new cards and fort.s that stop conversion...
-
However, today's game is considerably different than what it was with all of the new cards and fort.s that stop conversion...
Most protection forts only protect ECs in territory, not in battle.
Besides, the likelihood of a card being un-errated is low. ;)
-
However, today's game is considerably different than what it was with all of the new cards and fort.s that stop conversion...
Most protection forts only protect ECs in territory, not in battle.
Besides, the likelihood of a card being un-errated is low. ;)
I'm aware of this, just think that the errata would be better if you did it this way: only allow conversion upon activation. That way its effective but not too effective.
-
Then you can't use the sweet WatW combo.
-
Then you can't use the sweet WatW combo.
but how often can you even convert while an evil character is in a territory let alone in battle in today's game???
-
Lots, in T1. Protect fortresses just don't fit into today's speed decks.