Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on January 30, 2010, 02:03:09 PM

Title: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on January 30, 2010, 02:03:09 PM
In the New REG I saw that holding was going to become a SA. Had this already happened? Or is this an upcoming attraction sorta thing?
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on January 30, 2010, 07:17:19 PM
"Holds" is a special ability, regardless of where it appears on a card.

Definitions of */* abilities are identifiers, regardless of where they appear on the card.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: The Schaef on January 30, 2010, 10:43:20 PM
So a warrior holding a weapon is a special ability now?
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: christiangamer25 on January 30, 2010, 10:48:30 PM
apparently which is nice cause now i can use john to knock it off by preventing the sa lol
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on January 30, 2010, 10:58:22 PM
apparently which is nice cause now i can use john to knock it off by preventing the sa lol

I don't think it would get "knocked off"; if that was the case and it actually does work like that, idk...i don't think i'd be happy. But dems da breaks...
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on January 30, 2010, 10:59:15 PM
apparently which is nice cause now i can use john to knock it off by preventing the sa lol

I don't think it would get "knocked off"; if that was the case and it actually does work like that, idk...i don't think i'd be happy. But dems da breaks...
If that happened I'd argue quite a bit.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on January 30, 2010, 11:12:03 PM
So a warrior holding a weapon is a special ability now?

+1 That doesn't seem right that one is an ability, the other is not.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on January 30, 2010, 11:41:01 PM
Where does the word "Holds" appear on a weapon or warrior, that isn't a special ability?

The "Holds X" words in the identifer line on a fortress is a special ability.  It is defined in the rules.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: The Schaef on January 31, 2010, 12:02:21 AM
The icon contains the hold "special ability" as it is now referred.  And many cards refer to "if X is holding a Y".
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Professoralstad on January 31, 2010, 12:31:44 AM
The icon contains the hold "special ability" as it is now referred.  And many cards refer to "if X is holding a Y".

I think that the ability to hold a weapon is, as odd as it seems, not really a hold ability. It is a part of the nature of the card, like the brigade. I wouldn't say that Widow has a "special ability" to play purple enhancements just because she is purple. Similarly I wouldn't say that the WC symbol is a special ability to hold a weapon.

My thinking is that if the ability isn't written anywhere in English on the card, then it isn't really an ability.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: SirNobody on January 31, 2010, 02:54:56 AM
Hey,

Rules for place abilities don't apply to weapons because weapons are placed by game rule not by special ability.

Rules for hold abilities don't apply to weapons because weapons are held by game rule not by special ability.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: The Schaef on January 31, 2010, 08:12:59 AM
Identifiers are not special abilities, either.

Except now apparently sometimes they are.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on January 31, 2010, 10:43:51 AM
Words written on the pictures on cards are not identifiers.  Except sometimes (in the case of Saul and defining stats) they are.

Words written under the pictures on cards are not special abilities.  Except sometimes (in the case of "Holds...") they are.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: The Schaef on January 31, 2010, 11:33:41 AM
Identifiers were created later and things that were originally on the card art were moved down there specifically to separate them from the special ability text.

I think you are very much aware of this fact, and that the context makes it so you cannot simply act like the two examples flip naturally.  So I'd like to move on to the original question of why this distinction is now being erased and everything is being made arbitrary.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on January 31, 2010, 11:44:53 AM
So, if I negate TGT, can I put any cards I want on TGT, since it'd no longer be "empty"?
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Sean on January 31, 2010, 12:36:09 PM
So, if I negate TGT, can I put any cards I want on TGT, since it'd no longer be "empty"?
No, because there is no ability gained that allows you to put cards in it.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on January 31, 2010, 06:35:26 PM
"Empty!" is not a special ability.  Therefore, it cannot be negated.

"Holds" The Word.  With an s.  That word begins a special ability, even if on the identifier line.  How is that difficult?

We don't have room on fortresses to fit the special ability and sometimes tricky filling and emptying special abilities.  So, we put what it holds on the identifier line.  It is for space purposes.  "Holds" is still a special ability.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on January 31, 2010, 06:39:15 PM
You all missed my joke so much...  :D
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Master KChief on January 31, 2010, 06:39:22 PM
a new beginning says hello.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on January 31, 2010, 07:25:32 PM
You all missed my joke so much...  :D
LOL.  Sorry, I couldn't tell if that was as funny as it first sounded, or if you were being sarcastic.  I apologize for misreading you.  :)
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: The Schaef on January 31, 2010, 07:30:22 PM
That was never my understanding of the use for the identifier line.  Ever.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Alex_Olijar on January 31, 2010, 07:35:24 PM
I agree. Identifiers have always been non-negateable. Hence how mad we were when they morphed into SAs on stuff like Z Temple.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Korunks on February 01, 2010, 08:39:09 AM
"Holds" is a special ability, regardless of where it appears on a card.

Definitions of */* abilities are identifiers, regardless of where they appear on the card.

emphasis mine, does this mean Dance of Death can now be worth 10/6 in a fbtn battle?  And Goliath's spear could be worth 8/10 in a fbtn battle?
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: EmJayBee83 on February 01, 2010, 09:01:49 AM
"Holds" is a special ability, regardless of where it appears on a card.

Definitions of */* abilities are identifiers, regardless of where they appear on the card.

emphasis mine, does this mean Dance of Death can now be worth 10/6 in a fbtn battle?  And Goliath's spear could be worth 8/10 in a fbtn battle?
No.  Dance of Death and G's Spear have pre-defined standard abilities (i.e., not a */* ability). The fact that they have an SA which changes these numbers does not makes them */*.

*/* abilities are exactly that--cards that have a * in either the offense or the toughness or both.  An example is Angel With the Secret Name,
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Alex_Olijar on February 01, 2010, 01:00:26 PM
Silly Women and The Testimony are cards that have */* abilities as well.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: STAMP on February 01, 2010, 01:18:06 PM
So, if I negate TGT, can I put any cards I want on TGT, since it'd no longer be "empty"?

If you negate TGT and it is no longer "Empty!", I am more curious as to what card materializes on TGT.   ;)
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: TimMierz on February 01, 2010, 01:41:18 PM
Perhaps Angel at the Tomb?
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on February 02, 2010, 11:48:14 AM
I would like to point out that the current (and official) REG disagrees.

Quote from: REG
Special Abilities
These are the instructions printed on the picture of some cards. ( See Anatomy of a Card and Resolving Special Ability Combinations in the rulebook).




So, if I negate TGT, can I put any cards I want on TGT, since it'd no longer be "empty"?

If you negate TGT and it is no longer "Empty!", I am more curious as to what card materializes on TGT.   ;)
Theology debate ahoy! :D
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Warrior_Monk on February 02, 2010, 05:52:54 PM
this is so lame. holds is put as an identifier, it should stay that way. it's like errataing a ton of cards.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on February 02, 2010, 06:32:37 PM
Technically, an "identifier" just says what something IS, not what action is performed by it.  On a fortress, what "Holds X" does is a special ability.

What action does "prophet" or "king" do?  Nothing on its own.  Another card can say do something to or for a prophet, but prophet is not an action.

"Holds x" on a fortress grants this special ability: "You may place X on this card."  If it is not a special ability, then it is not an action that you can perform.

If you want to be able to use the "Holds X" on a fortress to put cards in that fortress, then it needs to be a special ability.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Warrior_Monk on February 02, 2010, 06:39:34 PM
Technically, an "identifier" just says what something IS, not what action is performed by it.  On a fortress, what "Holds X" does is a special ability.

What action does "prophet" or "king" do?  Nothing on its own.  Another card can say do something to or for a prophet, but prophet is not an action.

"Holds x" on a fortress grants this special ability: "You may place X on this card."  If it is not a special ability, then it is not an action that you can perform.

If you want to be able to use the "Holds X" on a fortress to put cards in that fortress, then it needs to be a special ability.

but the whole awesomeness of identifiers is the fact that part can be negated and part can't. but I guess it's not really an identifier then. still...
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on February 02, 2010, 07:08:33 PM
Then why were they put in the identifiers box in the first place?  IMO, and the REG's, special abilities are the text printed on the card's picture.  Identifiers are the small text underneath or clarifying text in the SA area.  The identifier box does not hold SAs.

Quote
If it is not a special ability, then it is not an action that you can perform.
Self's ability is not a SA, yet we perform it.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Warrior_Monk on February 02, 2010, 08:49:02 PM
Then why were they put in the identifiers box in the first place?  IMO, and the REG's, special abilities are the text printed on the card's picture.  Identifiers are the small text underneath or clarifying text in the SA area.  The identifier box does not hold SAs.

Quote
If it is not a special ability, then it is not an action that you can perform.
Self's ability is not a SA, yet we perform it.
it won't be the first time Cactus messed up...
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on February 02, 2010, 09:13:50 PM
Nor will it be the last but they do fix their mistakes
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Warrior_Monk on February 02, 2010, 09:16:19 PM
Nor will it be the last but they do fix their mistakes
some mistakes would be fine if they didn't fix it.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on February 02, 2010, 10:19:38 PM
Then why were they put in the identifiers box in the first place?  IMO, and the REG's, special abilities are the text printed on the card's picture.  Identifiers are the small text underneath or clarifying text in the SA area.  The identifier box does not hold SAs.

Quote
If it is not a special ability, then it is not an action that you can perform.
Self's ability is not a SA, yet we perform it.
What is Self?  The identifier tells you what it is.  In order to tell what it is (the definition of an identifier), you have to select a hero to "copy."  Otherwise, Self isn't anything.  It is all identifier.

As I already stated above, "Holds" was put into the identifier line to save space.  In retrospect, perhaps we should have just covered the entire picture with words to prevent this confusion.  :)
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: The Schaef on February 02, 2010, 10:32:33 PM
That was never my understanding of the use for the identifier line.  Ever.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: STAMP on February 02, 2010, 10:39:32 PM
Then why were they put in the identifiers box in the first place?  IMO, and the REG's, special abilities are the text printed on the card's picture.  Identifiers are the small text underneath or clarifying text in the SA area.  The identifier box does not hold SAs.

Quote
If it is not a special ability, then it is not an action that you can perform.
Self's ability is not a SA, yet we perform it.
What is Self?  The identifier tells you what it is.  In order to tell what it is (the definition of an identifier), you have to select a hero to "copy."  Otherwise, Self isn't anything.  It is all identifier.

As I already stated above, "Holds" was put into the identifier line to save space.  In retrospect, perhaps we should have just covered the entire picture with words to prevent this confusion.  :)

Let me make sure I understand this.  Self only has an identifier but the identifier contains a "copy" ability.  The identifier is just that and cannot be negated.  So the "copy" ability, although being an actual ability, cannot be negated because it's within the identifier?

I'm REALLY glad I'm retired!   ;)
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on February 02, 2010, 10:55:26 PM
So... does Innumerable have no SA either... meaning its "ability" is really just an identifier as well? It Copies too...
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Warrior_Monk on February 02, 2010, 11:02:45 PM
I'm REALLY glad I'm retired!   ;)
I never thought I'd say this, but I don't blame you with things like these. my whole redemption world just flipped around.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on February 02, 2010, 11:48:44 PM
I'm REALLY glad I'm retired!   ;)
I never thought I'd say this, but I don't blame you with things like these. my whole redemption world just flipped around.
A much needed flip honestly.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on February 03, 2010, 12:38:03 AM
Innumerable does not have */*.  Therefore, it has a copy special ability.

Self has */*.  If */* is not defined, then the card is nothingness.  You can't have a character that is nothingness.  Therefore it has an identifier, just like Silly Women and Angel with a Secret Name.

Just look for the stars.  If words on a card are telling you what the stars are, then it is an identifier.

Get it?  :)
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: SirNobody on February 03, 2010, 03:48:22 AM
Hey,

The playtesting team and rules management teem are volunteers.  As a result we end up flying by the seat of our pants sometimes.  When we make things up as we go, occasionally we make mistakes.  We made a mistake when we made Z-temple's ability to hold an artifact an identifier.  We made a mistake when we said Self had a copy ability.  When we realize we've made mistakes we correct them.  Sometimes it takes a little time to get corrections through.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Minister Polarius on February 03, 2010, 04:12:39 AM
I'll cry quarts if this means ruling out "cannot be Ignored" in an identifier.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: The Schaef on February 03, 2010, 08:33:48 AM
We made a mistake when we made Z-temple's ability to hold an artifact an identifier.

Except "we" who were actually developing the cards at the time never considered the hold to be an ability nor a print error nor an isolated incident, since every Fortress that holds stuff from Priests forward has been treated the same.

This not a "mistake".  This is a "change".
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: BubbleBoy on February 03, 2010, 08:48:24 AM
My :2cents::

Putting an "ability" in the identifier line is IMO a perfectly legitimate way to make that "ability" CBN and active outside of battle while the rest of the card is not.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on February 03, 2010, 08:54:32 AM
This has actually been around since priests as far as I know:

(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.redemptionreg.com%2FREG%2FLinkedDocuments%2FHigh%2520Priest%27s%2520Palace%2520%28Pi%29.gif&hash=fc83c3bd21de1fba45c1dcb9676e32c417dfa0db)
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Warrior_Monk on February 03, 2010, 09:10:22 AM
My :2cents::

Putting an "ability" in the identifier line is IMO a perfectly legitimate way to make that "ability" CBN and active outside of battle while the rest of the card is not.
+1 this is always how I've viewed it.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: BubbleBoy on February 03, 2010, 09:20:49 AM
I also have a question, which most likely has been asked, but what happens when a "hold" "ability" is negated? Is the card returned to where it was before? Is it returned to your hand? Is it discarded?
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Professoralstad on February 03, 2010, 09:43:41 AM
I also have a question, which most likely has been asked, but what happens when a "hold" "ability" is negated? Is the card returned to where it was before? Is it returned to your hand? Is it discarded?

It should be returned to where it was.

I'll cry quarts if this means ruling out "cannot be Ignored" in an identifier.

This seems to be inevitable. There is no way that it could be consistent with this new ruling if "cannot be ignored" was made an identifier on the identifier line, especially when the phrase appears on other cards as special abilities. Perhaps we could make "unigorable" an identifier. But it doesn't seem likely.

Let me know how many pails you fill.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on February 03, 2010, 09:52:55 AM
On the bright side maybe we'll get more Large Tree like cards with cooler abilities and CBIgnored
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Warrior_Monk on February 03, 2010, 09:56:19 AM
I also have a question, which most likely has been asked, but what happens when a "hold" "ability" is negated? Is the card returned to where it was before? Is it returned to your hand? Is it discarded?

It should be returned to where it was.

I'll cry quarts if this means ruling out "cannot be Ignored" in an identifier.

This seems to be inevitable. There is no way that it could be consistent with this new ruling if "cannot be ignored" was made an identifier on the identifier line, especially when the phrase appears on other cards as special abilities. Perhaps we could make "unigorable" an identifier. But it doesn't seem likely.

Let me know how many pails you fill.
I'm on my third already.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: STAMP on February 03, 2010, 10:08:54 AM
Innumerable does not have */*.  Therefore, it has a copy special ability.

Self has */*.  If */* is not defined, then the card is nothingness.  You can't have a character that is nothingness.  Therefore it has an identifier, just like Silly Women and Angel with a Secret Name.

Just look for the stars.  If words on a card are telling you what the stars are, then it is an identifier.

Get it?  :)

The "copy" ability I'm referring to is the copying of identifiers.  It would seem confusing to consider this type of copy to not be an ability.

Hey,

The playtesting team and rules management teem are volunteers.  As a result we end up flying by the seat of our pants sometimes.  When we make things up as we go, occasionally we make mistakes.  We made a mistake when we made Z-temple's ability to hold an artifact an identifier.  We made a mistake when we said Self had a copy ability.  When we realize we've made mistakes we correct them.  Sometimes it takes a little time to get corrections through.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly

Maybe it's time to have a little separation of duties.  I've worked in software development for years.  The developers do not write techinical documentation.  I would suggest that there be a separation between those that develop cards and those that document/proofread them.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on February 03, 2010, 10:16:31 AM
FWIW, I've been suggesting that to Chris for years.

On a somewhat related note: STAMP - I'm having issues with a Java program I'm writing, care to help ;)
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on February 03, 2010, 12:04:48 PM
I also have a question, which most likely has been asked, but what happens when a "hold" "ability" is negated? Is the card returned to where it was before? Is it returned to your hand? Is it discarded?
The special ability "Holds" only allows you to place the card there.  It does not "keep" the card there.  If a "Holds" ability is negated during the phase in which the card is placed in it, then the card comes out.  If it is negated in a later phase, then the place is not undone.  The card on or in the fortress remains.  However, no cards may be added to the fortress while the "Holds" ability is negated.

While "unignorable" won't be appearing on an identifier line of an evil character (since it is a special ability, not an identifier), that idea will appear in special abilities on other cards (such as sites, fortresses, lost souls, etc.) eventually.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Master KChief on February 03, 2010, 12:10:46 PM
the art remains on the fort if the fort is negated? i thought it was ruled the art goes back to art pile, but it was still up in the air whether the art immediately goes back, or goes back during the owners next prep phase.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: The Schaef on February 03, 2010, 12:12:15 PM
But that's sort of the point here: now that special abilities can be and are placed in the identifier line, all bets are off as to when and where these things will appear, or be shifted from one thing to another.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Soundman2 on February 03, 2010, 12:15:33 PM
I thought "holds" in the case of the tabernacle where Z-temple clarifiers so we wouldn't have topics like "can I put Holy Grail in the tabernacle?".  I do how ever see why its being ruled the way it is.  Temple of Dagon High priest's palace.  
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: STAMP on February 03, 2010, 12:33:41 PM
I also have a question, which most likely has been asked, but what happens when a "hold" "ability" is negated? Is the card returned to where it was before? Is it returned to your hand? Is it discarded?
The special ability "Holds" only allows you to place the card there.  It does not "keep" the card there.  If a "Holds" ability is negated during the phase in which the card is placed in it, then the card comes out.  If it is negated in a later phase, then the place is not undone.  The card on or in the fortress remains.  However, no cards may be added to the fortress while the "Holds" ability is negated.

While "unignorable" won't be appearing on an identifier line of an evil character (since it is a special ability, not an identifier), that idea will appear in special abilities on other cards (such as sites, fortresses, lost souls, etc.) eventually.

Yikes!  With all due respect I completely understand the intent.  However, the choice of english makes it all confusing.  A "hold", which in english connotes an ongoing action, appears to be ruled as an instant action (which is further confusing when you use the verb "place" in your description).

Okay, time to throw a wrench into things.  We have this game rule that cards in a fortress follow the fortress.  I have Holy of Holies in Z-Temple.  I play The Meal in Emmaus and choose to activate Book of the Covenant on Z-Temple and activate two covenants.  Later in the battle my opponent negates Z-Temple with an enhancement.

What happens??
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on February 03, 2010, 12:45:48 PM
But that's sort of the point here: now that special abilities can be and are placed in the identifier line, all bets are off as to when and where these things will appear, or be shifted from one thing to another.
Rob sent the last playtest list back with a request that a special ability be removed from an identifier line (see the promo at the end of the list).  He wants special abilities written over the picture, where they always appear, and always will appear.  "Holds" on fortresses is the only exception, and was (I thought) a needed step to allow special abilities to fit on a card.  Given the confusion evident on this thread, we should have just covered more art.  :)
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: The Schaef on February 03, 2010, 12:54:59 PM
Have I mentioned yet that was never my understanding of the use of the identifier line?
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Gabe on February 03, 2010, 12:59:04 PM
Maybe it's time to have a little separation of duties.  I've worked in software development for years.  The developers do not write techinical documentation.  I would suggest that there be a separation between those that develop cards and those that document/proofread them.

FWIW, that's how other successful CCGs operate also.  I know our playtesters are volunteers but I'm not sure that should stop Cactus from considering deligation of tasks to people gifted in different areas.  It could lighten the load on them instead of increase it.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on February 03, 2010, 01:00:48 PM
the art remains on the fort if the fort is negated? i thought it was ruled the art goes back to art pile, but it was still up in the air whether the art immediately goes back, or goes back during the owners next prep phase.
If a special ability completed in a previous phase, it can't be negated.  That is why Abraham does not remove the Site Doubler from a site.  The ability to put it on an occupied site completed during the player's prep phase.  It can't be negated during the battle phase of a subsequent turn.

The ironic thing about this is that we have 4+ pages of debate/surprise/complaining about something that rarely happens.  
Spreading Mildew specifies empties the fort, so that is nothing new.
Most fort negaters only negate during the battle phase, so those don't empty the fort.
Image of Jealousy and Destructive Sin have to be played during battle phase or on YOUR turn, which means that it is too late to undo the placement into the fort that happened on opponent's turn.

The only thing this seems to "change" is that you can't put a NEW artifact on a fort if Image of Jealousy is on it, or if Destructive Sin is on your hero.  Is there something else I am missing?  
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: STAMP on February 03, 2010, 01:04:16 PM
Yikes!  With all due respect I completely understand the intent.  However, the choice of english makes it all confusing.  A "hold", which in english connotes an ongoing action, appears to be ruled as an instant action (which is further confusing when you use the verb "place" in your description).

Okay, time to throw a wrench into things.  We have this game rule that cards in a fortress follow the fortress.  I have Holy of Holies in Z-Temple.  I play The Meal in Emmaus and choose to activate Book of the Covenant on Z-Temple and activate two covenants.  Later in the battle my opponent negates Z-Temple with an enhancement.

What happens??

When you have that figured out, what happens if my opponent then discards Z-Temple??
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Gabe on February 03, 2010, 01:05:59 PM
The ironic thing about this is that we have 4+ pages of debate/surprise/complaining about something that rarely happens.

Since when has irrelevancy kept Redemption players from having a 12 page discussion concerning something they're passionate about?
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: The Schaef on February 03, 2010, 01:16:07 PM
For starters, there's the understanding that identifiers were identifiers, until being told very suddenly that they were not, necessarily, making it arbitrary as to whether something is or is not going to be an identifier or reclassified as a special ability tomorrow.

If I had the first inkling that these were special abilities, I never would have endorsed the idea of moving them down to the identifier.  The fact that Rob immediately recognized the special in Card X and requested it be moved out only amplifies this.

Second, there's the fact that there was zero discussion regarding this topic on any front, public or private.  Research has revealed that this decision was reached as the result of a private email discussion between three people over a year ago (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=17880.msg281672#msg281672) but only just now spoken aloud.  In the meantime, the rest of us, having no knowledge or input on this, went and developed an entire new set of cards under what turned out to be an obsolete premise.  The only saving grace there is that I don't think there were any "holding" Forts in Thesaurus, and (hopefully) there are no other surprise rulings lurking.

Lastly, if there's no significant change between having it as a special or as an identifier, then what necessitates this change in the first place?  Why can't identifiers simply be left alone and hold abilities be written in the special going forward?
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on February 03, 2010, 01:24:04 PM
I play The Meal in Emmaus and choose to activate Book of the Covenant on Z-Temple and activate two covenants.
You can't do that.  Meal in Emmaus activates a new artifact on your artifact pile.

Cards are put into or out of fortresses only during prep phase, unless specified otherwise.  Meal in Emmaus does not specify a fortress, so you can only activate one in your artifact pile.  Similarly, if I play a card during battle that lets me search my own deck for a lost soul, I can't put it in a site at that time, unless the card says I can.

I think what you are looking for (for purposes of an example) is the ability on a little-used Teal hero that allows you to activate a new artifact on your Tabernacle (or is it Solomon's Temple, I can't remember).

If that hero refers to Solomon's Temple, then the point is moot: the "holds" special ability is written over the picture on Solomon's Temple anyway.

If that hero refers to the Tabernacle, then the "Holds" ability is undone.  But that is not what put the artifact there.  The hero did.  Sapphira or King of Tyrus would neagte the special ability on the hero (sending the artifact back).  But negating the "holds" ability would not, since that is not what placed the artifact there.  Get it?
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: The Schaef on February 03, 2010, 01:33:19 PM
Cards are put into or out of fortresses only during prep phase, unless specified otherwise.

An ability that activates multiple times over multiple turns cannot be a mere instantaneous one-time ability.

The rules for placing cards in Fortresses is built into the game rules, which confuses me as to why this needs to be treated as a special in the first place.  Filling and emptying Forts makes the most sense as a game rule, with an identifier specifying what kind of cards, if any, it can hold.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on February 03, 2010, 01:37:04 PM
Research has revealed that this decision was reached as the result of a private email discussion between three people over a year ago (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=17880.msg281672#msg281672) but only just now spoken aloud.  In the meantime, the rest of us, having no knowledge or input on this, went and developed an entire new set of cards under what turned out to be an obsolete premise. 
Isn't separation of powers great?  ;) 
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on February 03, 2010, 01:47:09 PM
Cards are put into or out of fortresses only during prep phase, unless specified otherwise.

An ability that activates multiple times over multiple turns cannot be a mere instantaneous one-time ability.

The rules for placing cards in Fortresses is built into the game rules, which confuses me as to why this needs to be treated as a special in the first place.  Filling and emptying Forts makes the most sense as a game rule, with an identifier specifying what kind of cards, if any, it can hold.
The Site Doubler lost soul is a perfect example of a card with a "Hold/Held" ability.  You can use it any time during the preparation phase.  It is an manually-triggered special ability that you can use during your prep phase.

Schaef, you are a genius!  I really like your suggestion that "Holds" be a "game rule" for forts, rather than a "special ability" (as it is certainly NOT an "identifier").  The only possible "problem" with that interpretation is Solomon's Temple.  Is that a special ability or a game rule?

Storehouse has to be all special ability, since you don't do it during the prep phase.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: The Schaef on February 03, 2010, 01:59:21 PM
It's perfectly fine having a "Hold" special ability separate from a game rule to accommodate cards that do not follow the normal rules, just as an "Activate an Artifact" ability is its own animal from the normal game rules about when and how to activate Arts (during Prep).

Nor do I have a problem with the holding text on current Forts be identifiers because they specify what, if any, cards can be held.  It's not a special ability unto itself but the parameters need to be defined, just as the parameters of * or X need to be defined.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: lightningninja on February 03, 2010, 02:05:07 PM
Wow how have I missed this thread!?  :o

So we are discussing whether fortresses and other cards that hold card... if that ability should be classified as a game rule, identifier or ability? What's wrong with the status quo? So Image of Jealousy doesn't negate that holy of holies can be placed on Z-Temple... who cares?
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on February 03, 2010, 02:17:34 PM
The ironic thing about this is that we have 4+ pages of debate/surprise/complaining about something that rarely happens.

Since when has irrelevancy kept Redemption players from having a 12 page discussion concerning something they're passionate about?
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on February 03, 2010, 02:20:35 PM
So, if a fortress has no label anywhere saying what it can hold, then only a special ability can place something into it or onto it.  Right?

But, if a fortress has a label saying what it can hold, then you can put any number of those things into or out of that fort during your prep phase.  Those actions are allowed by game actions as defined by the rules for fortresses.  And are not special abilities unto themselves.  Does all this sound right?

This is a perfect example of why we shouldn't have a "separation of powers."  Schaef has been very helpful on both the rules side and the development side: striving for consistency in rules, and creating unique strategies and themes such as Herods and Musicians.  We all have our areas of best function, but they are not mutually exclusive.  Further, the playtesters know their own limitations, and frequently look for help from select people outside the core team.  Cases in point:
- The new REG has been up for reading and comment for a while now.  This thread was started because a very dedicated player actually took the time to read it, noticed this, and made input now, rather than wait for it to release and whine about it after it was official.
- Most playtesters have at least a couple other players in their playgroup who put their eyes on the cards, and test them, before they go to print.  In addition to the dozen or so CA players that I have testing cards with me, I send certain cards to certain trustworthy top players and discuss their balance/usefulness issues.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: STAMP on February 03, 2010, 02:34:18 PM
If that hero refers to the Tabernacle, then the "Holds" ability is undone.  But that is not what put the artifact there.  The hero did.  Sapphira or King of Tyrus would neagte the special ability on the hero (sending the artifact back).  But negating the "holds" ability would not, since that is not what placed the artifact there.  Get it?

Sorry.  I am at work so I'm trying to remember cards off the top of my head and looking them up in the online REG.  (BTW, HoH nullifies Sapphira or KoT.) 

Okay, so let's consider an example with Eleazar, son of Aaron:

Eleazar, son of Aaron
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Teal • Ability: 8 / 9 • Class: None • Special Ability: Heal a Hero in play. When a blocker is presented, you may activate a different Artifact in your Tabernacle. Negate previous Artifact. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Tabernacle High Priest (House of Eleazar) • Verse: Leviticus 10:6

Holy of Holies
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Prevent all interrupt, prevent, and negate abilities on Characters. Cannot be negated during the battle phase. • Identifiers: OT, Tabernacle Item, Temple Item • Verse: I Kings 8:6

Book of the Covenant
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Holder may activate two covenants on this artifact. • Identifiers: OT, Tabernacle Item, Temple Item • Verse: Exodus 24:7

The Tabernacle
Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Glory of the Lord protects this card and its contents. If you have Solomon’s Temple in play, discard this card (regardless of protection) and transfer its contents to Solomon’s Temple. • Identifiers: Holds one active Tabernacle Artifact • Verse: Exodus 40:34


I activate HoH on Tabernacle in my prep phase.  I rescue with Eleazar and activate BotC, and then activate two covenants.  HoH remains active.  My opponent then negates Tabernacle.

Based on what's been said in this thread I am guessing that BotC AND the two covenants are put face down on the art pile, with HoH and the SA of the two covenants still active?  I'm also guessing that Glory of the Lord provides no protection against the negate in this scenario?  Finally, if my opponent discards Tabernacle I'm guessing that it's the only thing discarded and HoH and two covenants continue to remain active?
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: The Schaef on February 03, 2010, 02:37:22 PM
I hate to sound like the malcontent at this point, but the REG is also an example of an instance similar to the clandestine "Fort hold" rule change, where after initial comments, nothing was discussed for some time, even after Thesaurus was sent to print, and then the REG in its current form was thrust directly into the public eye.

I/we are supposed to be "in the know" and field questions regarding the REG but we're seeing it at the same time as everyone else, and notably, several corrections (not suggestions but factual errors) from early discussions still never found their way into the document.

Separation of powers has its place, and there are areas where we overlap and where we do not.  But information needs to be free-flowing so that there are a dozen people who understand where we are and can field questions, and not just the one or two who put their hands on it.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on February 03, 2010, 02:59:10 PM
Quote
I activate HoH on Tabernacle in my prep phase.  I rescue with Eleazar and activate BotC, and then activate two covenants.  HoH remains active.  My opponent then negates Tabernacle.

Based on what's been said in this thread I am guessing that BotC AND the two covenants are put face down on the art pile, with HoH and the SA of the two covenants still active? 
Negating Tabernacle does nothing.  As I said in my post above, Tabernacle's Special Ability was not used to activate the artifact there: the HERO did that.  If you don't negate the hero's special ability, then the Artifact stays.

And that same result happens regardless of whether "Holds" on Tabernacle is treated as a special ability (similar to the Site Doubler lost soul), or a game rule (which can't be negated).
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: STAMP on February 03, 2010, 04:27:15 PM
Quote
I activate HoH on Tabernacle in my prep phase.  I rescue with Eleazar and activate BotC, and then activate two covenants.  HoH remains active.  My opponent then negates Tabernacle.

Based on what's been said in this thread I am guessing that BotC AND the two covenants are put face down on the art pile, with HoH and the SA of the two covenants still active? 
Negating Tabernacle does nothing.  As I said in my post above, Tabernacle's Special Ability was not used to activate the artifact there: the HERO did that.  If you don't negate the hero's special ability, then the Artifact stays.

And that same result happens regardless of whether "Holds" on Tabernacle is treated as a special ability (similar to the Site Doubler lost soul), or a game rule (which can't be negated).

Ok, I get it now.  "Holds" is an instant ability that targets the fortress basically defining the type of container that fortress is.  I would rather this be a game rule.  Why?  Because although it would be very difficult to negate the "hold" ability, if you did then that fortress could never hold anything while it remains in play.  It would have to leave play and then be reactivated later.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on February 03, 2010, 04:35:21 PM
I agree with schaef that if Hold is to be an ability... that it seems like it would be an ongoing ability.

If I'm holding an object with my hands, it's not a one time deal. I have to continue to hold it. Negating my hold would be like me dropping the object I had in my hands, because I am no longer holding it.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on February 03, 2010, 04:45:34 PM
"Holds/may be held" is a manually-triggered ability.  As evidenced by the ruling on the Site Doubler Lost Soul, once the card is put in, that action cannot be negated on a later phase.

It is a manually triggered ability that is only allowed in the preparation phase.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: The Schaef on February 03, 2010, 04:49:26 PM
That definition will kill you on Storehouse, which works only in the Discard Phase.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on February 03, 2010, 04:52:37 PM
I see Place as the instant version of Hold.

If you place something on a counter, it will (in most cases) remain on the counter without you doing anything to it. However, an object held in the air will only remain in the air so long as you continue to hold it.

Both put cards in other locations, but one is ongoing, the other is instant.

*EDIT*

Regarding lost souls, I think the site doubler and BBH need a play as... At the moment, we have both Place AND held being used.

Quote
When you place this card in a Site, you may put an Evil Character face down from hand, The Darkness or Tartaros on that Site. During a rescue attempt at that Site, you may add that Character to the battle.

Quote
If you put this lost soul in a site, each of your opponent's must discard a card from hand.

Quote
This Site may hold one Lost Soul for each Babylonian Site in Play.

Quote
This Lost Soul may be held captive   in a Site currently occupied by another Lost Soul

Quote
For each Lost Soul in your territory that is not in a Site, search draw pile for an Eqyptian Site an dput in play. Put   a Lost Soul in each of those Sites. Cannot be interrupted.

Then theres this oddball:

Quote
Search your draw pile for one single color Lost Soul Site. Place Site in play. A Lost Soul may be added to the Site immediately.

I say we clean this up and just us the already existing term Place, which would continue to work EXACTLY as we have played it in the past. Place abilities CBN after the phase they were used in.

*edit 2*

I realized there are quite a few more SA's regarding sites and souls, but they could all very easily be clarified to say place/placed.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on February 03, 2010, 05:30:18 PM
That definition will kill you on Storehouse, which works only in the Discard Phase.
Storehouse does not have a "holds" rule on the identifier line.  It has a special ability that is used when it says it is used.

If we are going to make "Holds" part of the game rules for fortresses, rather than a special ability, then "Holds" needs to have a time that it is used.  To my knowledge, every card with the "Holds" keyword on the identifier line only allows that action to take place in the prep phase.  Other forts can allow placement at different times, but those are ONLY by special ability.

"Holds/may be held" cannot be treated exactly as JUST an instant place ability, since it would have to be used immediately when it hits the table.  The Site Doubler would have to be placed immediately when drawn or not at all.  Further, it could be used immediately when drawn in the middle of a battle, for instance.

"Holds/may be held" MUST remain a manually-triggered action that is only available during the prep phase.  

I like Schaef's idea that, when "Holds" appears on the identifier line of a fortress, the placement of the card into the fort is an action allowed by the game rule for fortresses, and not a special ability.  But it is still a manually-triggered action, and not an instant ability that is now-or-never at the moment it is played.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on February 03, 2010, 05:37:31 PM
"Holds/may be held" cannot be treated exactly as JUST an instant place ability, since it would have to be used immediately when it hits the table.  The Site Doubler would have to be placed immediately when drawn or not at all.  Further, it could be used immediately when drawn in the middle of a battle, for instance.

Except, Lost Souls have a special game rule attached to them that lets you put them in sites during your prep phase without using ANY special abilities... So I don't think that is entirely accurate. Plus, aren't all LS abilities aside from those that specify "When drawn" constantly active?

This means that with the site doubler, at any time, you may use the game rule to "place" it on a site, but the SA on the souls allows you to place it on a site with another soul already in it.


Some examples of the cards above, reworded with place:

You may place one Lost Soul in this site for each babylon site in play.

This Soul may be placed into a site that currently has a soul placed in it.

Search your draw pile for one single color Lost Soul Site. Place Site in play. A Lost Soul may be placed in the Site immediately.

Show those to anyone and they'll immediately understand it. At the moment though, having BOTH abilities for the same action is just going to cause problems. I see no reason why Place should not be used for souls.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: STAMP on February 03, 2010, 05:57:28 PM
Okay, you guys can take it from here.  I'm bowing out of this one.   :)
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Bryon on February 03, 2010, 06:33:24 PM
You may place one Lost Soul in this site for each babylon site in play.
At what time do I get to use this ability?  How often can I use it?  That isn't very clear.

This site's Lost Soul capacity equals the number of Babylonian sites in play.

Is that better?  :)
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on February 03, 2010, 06:58:13 PM
hmm, I guess BBH would be the only LS/Site card where place isnt as understandable. Everything else could easily be switched.

To answer the questions you asked... arent Site abilities ongoing unless specified as well?

Reading through the list, there are a few with no conditions that work constantly, such as the AW sites "Evil cards on this site are protected from DragonRaid." and BBH. Every other card gives a specific condition for the SA to activate.

So, I guess you can say every SA on a site is ongoing unless it has a condition that must be met?

"Up to X souls may be placed on this site at any time. X = number of babylon sites in play." <-- maybe?


Only reason I'm suggesting this stuff is to try and condense the action of putting souls in sites into ONE ability, not three.  :D
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Gabe on April 10, 2010, 06:18:05 PM
I asked privately about the final ruling on how we should handle a "hold" ability found in the identifier line of a card.  I received the following answer as well as the suggestion that I pass along this announcement to the Redemption community:

Quote
Anything in the identifier line can't be negated.  Rob ruled on this in the playtester side of the message board.  Feel free to announce that on the relevant threads.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Warrior_Monk on April 10, 2010, 06:34:34 PM
I asked privately about the final ruling on how we should handle a "hold" ability found in the identifier line of a card.  I received the following answer as well as the suggestion that I pass along this announcement to the Redemption community:

Quote
Anything in the identifier line can't be negated.  Rob ruled on this in the playtester side of the message board.  Feel free to announce that on the relevant threads.
HALLELUJAH!
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 10, 2010, 06:35:29 PM
Quote
Anything in the identifier line can't be negated.  Rob ruled on this in the playtester side of the message board.  Feel free to announce that on the relevant threads.
Is it also active outside battle? That's important...
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Ironica on April 10, 2010, 06:40:01 PM
I asked privately about the final ruling on how we should handle a "hold" ability found in the identifier line of a card.  I received the following answer as well as the suggestion that I pass along this announcement to the Redemption community:

Quote
Anything in the identifier line can't be negated.  Rob ruled on this in the playtester side of the message board.  Feel free to announce that on the relevant threads.

And the peasants rejoice :P.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Professoralstad on April 10, 2010, 07:41:27 PM
Quote
Anything in the identifier line can't be negated.  Rob ruled on this in the playtester side of the message board.  Feel free to announce that on the relevant threads.
Is it also active outside battle? That's important...

Is it important? I think that's always been the case...Are there any characters with abilifiers? Presently, I think not, as I think only Fortresses and one Artifact (Magic Charms) have them. If that ceases to be the case, I'm sure it will be settled then.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on April 10, 2010, 07:45:55 PM
WOOO! One unresolved debate down... now we just need to resolve the Playced debate.
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Gabe on April 10, 2010, 08:36:02 PM
WOOO! One unresolved debate down... now we just need to resolve the Playced debate.

I must have missed that debate.  Where can I find it?
Title: Re: Holding= Sa? Or???
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on April 10, 2010, 08:46:01 PM
Heres the basics of it:

1) when do placed enhancements activate after being placed by someone like Elishana.
2) are placed enhancements considered to be played?

debate #1 http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=18929.0 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=18929.0)
debate #2 http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=19761.0 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=19761.0)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal