Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: crustpope on December 04, 2009, 11:35:41 PM

Title: Highway recursion
Post by: crustpope on December 04, 2009, 11:35:41 PM
I am just making sure the ruling hasnt changed on this.

In type II can one copy of highway recur another copy of highway?

Highway
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Yellow • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Hero may withdraw from battle unharmed. All enhancement cards played may be returned to the player's hand except this one. • Identifiers: OT, Based on Prophecy • Verse: Isaiah 35:8
Title: Re: Highway recursion
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on December 04, 2009, 11:41:14 PM
I think yes, But I'm still confused on how withdraw works nowadays - we've discussed changing it a few times....
Title: Re: Highway recursion
Post by: crustpope on December 04, 2009, 11:43:36 PM
The funny thing is that Schaef ruled against a Momentum Change  returning another momentum change, yet Highway seems to be able to do the same thing on offense that Mo change did on Defense.  I think is seems a bit inconsistent...
Title: Re: Highway recursion
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on December 04, 2009, 11:49:11 PM
Yeah, that thought had crossed my mind too, so thats another reason I wasn't sure....
Title: Re: Highway recursion
Post by: Minister Polarius on December 05, 2009, 12:39:51 AM
"This one" refers to all copies of Highway, at least it should if it's consistent with Momentum Change.
Title: Re: Highway recursion
Post by: Gohanick on December 05, 2009, 11:39:33 AM
If highway is a cost - benefit (withdraw to return) then you would never get the chance to play a second highway before you withdraw and return from the first highway.
Title: Re: Highway recursion
Post by: browarod on December 05, 2009, 11:46:18 AM
I don't get the point for doing it. If you play one Highway and withdraw/return everything but Highway, you end up with a Highway in the discard pile. If you play one Highway and return but not withdraw and then play another Highway and withdraw and return the first Highway, you still end up with a Highway in the discard pile.
Title: Re: Highway recursion
Post by: TechnoEthicist on December 05, 2009, 11:50:46 AM
Battle Prayer...trust me it's a mess...
Title: Re: Highway recursion
Post by: EmJayBee83 on December 05, 2009, 10:43:13 PM
The difference is that Momentum Change is a triggered ability and both activate at the same time so they each refuse to allow themselves the privilege of returning to your hand. Highway, on the other hand, is an instantaneous SA so by the time the second one is played the first one's SA exempting itself from return is no longer active.

It is worth noting that most of the truly nasty play-for-an-hour combos require some form of this type of recursion. If this class of enhancements were specifically defined to exclude themselves from return, there would be little exigent need for the hand-limit ruling.
Title: Re: Highway recursion
Post by: crustpope on December 06, 2009, 09:42:38 AM
The difference is that Momentum Change is a triggered ability and both activate at the same time so they each refuse to allow themselves the privilege of returning to your hand. Highway, on the other hand, is an instantaneous SA so by the time the second one is played the first one's SA exempting itself from return is no longer active.

It is worth noting that most of the truly nasty play-for-an-hour combos require some form of this type of recursion. If this class of enhancements were specifically defined to exclude themselves from return, there would be little exigent need for the hand-limit ruling.

Mr. Brinkman has it on the nose here.  Basically you continnually band some people in, do your thing, play highway and return your cards to hand, the copy of highway goes to a gold brigade hero if applicable or the d/c Pile if not and then you play y our enhancements on the hero you handed into battle using another copy of highway (or the same one if you can fish it out of the d/c pile and it is not stuck on another gold brigade hero in battle)  If it IS stuck on another gold brigade hero from a previous hero's enhancements, the rule is that a second copy of Highway returns the original highway to hand along with all the other enhancements, and in this way you can keep churning out whatever you are trying to do.
Title: Re: Highway recursion
Post by: RTSmaniac on December 07, 2009, 12:14:57 AM
Hopefully with some immunity blocking in a brigade your opponents not using
Title: Re: Highway recursion
Post by: crustpope on December 07, 2009, 12:17:11 AM
Hopefully with some immunity blocking in a brigade your opponents not using

Even if they do have that, there are ways around that or ways you can avoid that.  Using card SA's to look at their hand before hand and remove offending cards such as using High places and fearfulness is one way around it.  but yeah, if they dont have that brigade it makes it much easier.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal