Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: bruce2213 on February 12, 2012, 08:59:07 AM

Title: High priests plot, Land dispute, and Goliaths spear?
Post by: bruce2213 on February 12, 2012, 08:59:07 AM
High Priest’s Plot (Pi)

Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 3 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: If used by a Sadducee, look at one opponent’s hand. Discard one good card in that hand. Cannot be negated if Judas Iscariot is in play. • Play As: If used by a Sadducee, search one opponent’s hand for one good card and discard it. Cannot be negated if Judas Iscariot is in play.

Can Opponent play a dominant from hand before I have a chance to discard it?



Land Dispute (TP)

Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 1 / 3 • Class: Territory • Special Ability: If used by a Philistine, take an opponent's Site. If he doesn't have one, discard one of his Fortresses instead.

 1.  Does this default to in play?
 2.  What happens to cards in that fortress?
 3.  If it does default to "in play", how does one get rid of Chamber of Angels as it is "set-a-side"?


Goliath's Spear (Ki)

Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 3 / 2 • Class: Weapon • Special Ability: Worth 8/10 if used by a giant. Goliath may retain as a weapon until discarded. • Play As: Increase abilities on this card to 8/10 if used by a giant. If played on Goliath, he may hold Goliath's Spear as a weapon until discarded.

Is this saying "until Goliath is discarded"?  If yes, then can it still be discarded by a "discard any evil enhancement" card?  Does it fall under the rules of any other weapon class enhancement? ie if he gets captured etc.
Title: Re: High priests plot, Land dispute, and Goliaths spear?
Post by: Praeceps on February 12, 2012, 09:05:45 AM
High Priest’s Plot (Pi)

Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 3 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: If used by a Sadducee, look at one opponent’s hand. Discard one good card in that hand. Cannot be negated if Judas Iscariot is in play. • Play As: If used by a Sadducee, search one opponent’s hand for one good card and discard it. Cannot be negated if Judas Iscariot is in play.

Can Opponent play a dominant from hand before I have a chance to discard it?



Land Dispute (TP)

Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 1 / 3 • Class: Territory • Special Ability: If used by a Philistine, take an opponent's Site. If he doesn't have one, discard one of his Fortresses instead.

 1.  Does this default to in play?
 2.  What happens to cards in that fortress?
 3.  If it does default to "in play", how does one get rid of Chamber of Angels as it is "set-a-side"?


Goliath's Spear (Ki)

Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 3 / 2 • Class: Weapon • Special Ability: Worth 8/10 if used by a giant. Goliath may retain as a weapon until discarded. • Play As: Increase abilities on this card to 8/10 if used by a giant. If played on Goliath, he may hold Goliath's Spear as a weapon until discarded.

Is this saying "until Goliath is discarded"?  If yes, then can it still be discarded by a "discard any evil enhancement" card?  Does it fall under the rules of any other weapon class enhancement? ie if he gets captured etc.

Scenario 1: No. HPP has to resolve before they can play. That was the point of the card.

Scenario 2: a)Yes, it defaults to Play. b)They are discarded with the fortress. c)Assyrian Siege Army works very well.

Scenario 3: Yes to all.
Title: Re: High priests plot, Land dispute, and Goliaths spear?
Post by: Red Wing on February 12, 2012, 09:06:46 AM
High Priest’s Plot (Pi)

Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 3 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: If used by a Sadducee, look at one opponent’s hand. Discard one good card in that hand. Cannot be negated if Judas Iscariot is in play. • Play As: If used by a Sadducee, search one opponent’s hand for one good card and discard it. Cannot be negated if Judas Iscariot is in play.

Can Opponent play a dominant from hand before I have a chance to discard it?

No, the ability has to complete before you can play a Dominant

Land Dispute (TP)

Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 1 / 3 • Class: Territory • Special Ability: If used by a Philistine, take an opponent's Site. If he doesn't have one, discard one of his Fortresses instead.

 1.  Does this default to in play? Yes
 2.  What happens to cards in that fortress? they are discarded
 3.  If it does default to "in play", how does one get rid of Chamber of Angels as it is "set-a-side"? Cards like this:Assyrian Siege Army (FF2)

Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Pale Green • Ability: 12 / 12 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: If blocking and another Assyrian is in play, you may negate and discard an Artifact, single color Site, or Fortress in play or set aside area. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: Generic OT Male Human, Assyria, Fought Earthly Battle • Verse: Isaiah 23:13 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers Extended booster packs (None)




Goliath's Spear (Ki)

Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 3 / 2 • Class: Weapon • Special Ability: Worth 8/10 if used by a giant. Goliath may retain as a weapon until discarded. • Play As: Increase abilities on this card to 8/10 if used by a giant. If played on Goliath, he may hold Goliath's Spear as a weapon until discarded.

Is this saying "until Goliath is discarded"? Yes. If yes, then can it still be discarded by a "discard any evil enhancement" card? Yes. Does it fall under the rules of any other weapon class enhancement? ie if he gets captured etc. Yes.
Title: Re: High priests plot, Land dispute, and Goliaths spear?
Post by: megamanlan on February 12, 2012, 01:46:42 PM
Chamber, Boat, Gates, Ravine, and Name of the Lord are hard to get rid off, only ASA shoots them well, other than that Prince of the Air does throw Chamber under too.
Title: Re: High priests plot, Land dispute, and Goliaths spear?
Post by: Drrek on February 13, 2012, 10:09:38 PM
Chamber, Boat, Gates, Ravine, and Name of the Lord are hard to get rid off, only ASA shoots them well, other than that Prince of the Air does throw Chamber under too.

Gates can also be hit by Forest Fire, since it targets either play or set-aside.
Title: Re: High priests plot, Land dispute, and Goliaths spear?
Post by: Red Wing on February 13, 2012, 10:14:02 PM
Or ANB.

I can't believe I said that before STAMP…
Title: Re: High priests plot, Land dispute, and Goliaths spear?
Post by: SomeKittens on February 13, 2012, 10:15:24 PM
MLaMG also targets setaside
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal