Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Crashfach2002 on October 22, 2011, 04:36:33 PM

Title: Hey that Character is already in play!
Post by: Crashfach2002 on October 22, 2011, 04:36:33 PM
I'm wanting to know the official ruling on this!  I make a rescue attempt with one of the two angels below.  I then proceed to pull a judge character that is already in play.  I then choose to discard one of them since you can't have two of them in play at the same time. 

Is this legal, or since I already have one in play, then I cannot choose the same character?



The Angel Under the Oak (RA2)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: 8 / 8 • Class: None • Special Ability: You may draw 2 and exchange this Hero with a gold Judge in your hand, deck, territory, or discard pile. Protect Gideon from opponents. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: OT Male Angel • Verse: Judges 6:11 • Availability: Rock of Ages Extended booster packs (None)

Angel with the Secret Name (RA2)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: X / X • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate Sites. You may exchange this Hero with a gold Judge in your hand, deck, or discard pile. Samson has Site access. Good Judges cards cannot be negated. • Identifiers: OT Male Angel, X = the number of silver Heroes in play • Verse: Judges 13:18 • Availability: Rock of Ages Extended booster packs (None)
Title: Re: Hey that Character is already in play!
Post by: YourMathTeacher on October 22, 2011, 06:26:13 PM
I'm not sure if the New REG has changed anything, but the old rule was that you could not choose the same judge that you already control.
Title: Re: Hey that Character is already in play!
Post by: SomeKittens on October 22, 2011, 06:34:41 PM
You're only allowed to pull out one you already control if it's not adding the character to battle.
Title: Re: Hey that Character is already in play!
Post by: Crashfach2002 on October 22, 2011, 07:19:03 PM
You're only allowed to pull out one you already control if it's not adding the character to battle.

Which would be why Samuel works with a David already in play.  That is the main reason I have been confused on this!
Title: Re: Hey that Character is already in play!
Post by: YourMathTeacher on October 22, 2011, 08:12:25 PM
You're only allowed to pull out one you already control if it's not adding the character to battle.

Is that what the new REG says? The old rule did not have that exception.
Title: Re: Hey that Character is already in play!
Post by: Gabe on October 22, 2011, 08:21:33 PM
Special abilities have always been able to cause a player to control duplicate characters. The exception to that rule has always been banding. One of the oldest examples capturing an opponent's character when you already control a copy. One of the newest examples is Samuel pulling another copy of David out of the owner's deck. Both are legal plays.
Title: Re: Hey that Character is already in play!
Post by: YourMathTeacher on October 22, 2011, 08:57:36 PM
I see. I guess I misunderstood the old rule. I'm glad Crash asked this question, and that SomeKittens answered it correctly.  ;D
Title: Re: Hey that Character is already in play!
Post by: CJSports on October 22, 2011, 10:54:47 PM
So after battle do you have to discard one of the davids?
Title: Re: Hey that Character is already in play!
Post by: SomeKittens on October 22, 2011, 10:56:01 PM
As soon as the second David/King Saul enters play, you must discard one of them.


(this might be put on the stack awaiting completion of SA's)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal