Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: GraftedIn on June 25, 2011, 10:21:19 PM
-
Herod’s Treachery is a territory-class enhancement. The special ability is played as: "Place on a Herod. That Herod may use evil Enhancements [use other enhancements] regardless of brigade. You may discard this card to force X Heroes in battle to return to owner's territories."
Let's say on turn 1 I play Herod’s Treachery and place it on a Herod. Then on turn 2, my opponent wants to make a rescue attempt. Now on this second turn, when can I use the second part of the special ability ("You may discard this card to force X Heroes in battle to return to owner's territories"). Specifically, can I use the ability before I present a blocker? In other words, is the following legal?
1. My opponent makes a rescue attempt and presents a hero.
2. I discard Herod’s Treachery from my territory to force the hero in battle to return.
Or similarly, is the following legal?
1. My opponent makes a rescue attempt and presents a hero.
2. I block with a character who does not have Herod's Treachery on him.
3. I discard Herod’s Treachery from my territory to force the hero in battle to return.
-
Both are legal.
-
Make sure to block with Herod Agrippa II for maximum awesome.
-
That seems odd to me. Why can the ability be invoked at any time, without regard to phase, initiative, etc.? The only other ability that has such flexibility is a Dominant. Why does this particular enhancement then function like a dominant?
-
Optional Triggered Effects can be activated at any time. This is why you can use Unholy Writ during battle (when it's useful) rather than right when you activate it (inb4 Meal in Emmaus).
-
When the optional triggered effect is activated, can it be interrupted and negated?
-
When the optional triggered effect is activated, can it be interrupted and negated?
Depends. In the case of Herod's Treachery (as well as cards like Go Into Captivity), the card is discarded before it can be negated, and thus, cannot be negated.
-
Actually, if HT is discarded from a Herod in battle, an interrupt the battle card will work. If it is discarded from a Herod not in battle, as is usually the case, it effectively cannot be interrupted.
-
It's technically "played" in that situation?