Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: The Guardian on June 15, 2014, 05:07:24 PM
-
Simeon bands to Captain. Opponent blocks with Archelaus (withdraw 2 heroes, opponent may discard 1 instead. CBP). I choose to discard Captain. Do I get a chance to play AotL on Archelaus before he can trigger Herod's Dungeon on Simeon?
-
I don't believe so. In the battle phase, optional triggered abilities such as Herod's Dungeon, Unholy Writ, and Magic Charms all have the same precedence level as Dominants (Which are essentially optional triggered abilities that you can play at any time)
-
Herod's Dungeon would be a manual trigger by the newer definitions on triggers and conditions, which can be done any time the "blocking" condition is true but has to be activated manually. I would tend to agree that this can be played at any time on essentially the same level as dominants, and could also be triggered immediately as a response to finishing the block with Herod.
Based on this, and other, questions arising about when you can play dominants, perhaps it is time to revise the "at any time" description on dominants, to define when they can actually be played, and whether they have priority?
-
If 2 or more Heroes are in battle, discard 1 of them. Opponent may withdraw 2 of them instead. Cannot be prevented by a Hero.
The person who blocks has completed the last action (discarding one of the heroes), which leads me to believe that using Herod's Dungeon would take precedent in a "respond to your own action" ruling. Conversely, if there are three heroes in battle and the rescuer withdraws 2 of them, the rescuer was the last person to act (doing the withdrawing), giving the dominant precedence in a "respond to your own action" ruling.
-
The person who blocks has completed the last action (discarding one of the heroes), which leads me to believe that using Herod's Dungeon would take precedent in a "respond to your own action" ruling. Conversely, if there are three heroes in battle and the rescuer withdraws 2 of them, the rescuer was the last person to act (doing the withdrawing), giving the dominant precedence in a "respond to your own action" ruling.
That makes sense to me. He stated he was capturing at the same moment I dropped AotL so it was basically a simultaneously ability situation.
-
I'm a little confused as to how this situation even came around. In the OP it seems like Guardian is the rescuer, so how are you choosing which character is discarded? The blocker chooses the Hero to discard, the rescuer only chooses if they want to withdraw 2 instead. Unless I'm missing something. :S
I agree with the end result, though. The blocker could use Dungeon before you could play AotL.
-
Oh sorry, when I said "I choose to discard Captain" I meant I was choosing to allow that to happen instead of withdrawing both Heroes. I see how that would be confusing with how I worded it.