Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Master KChief on October 07, 2010, 09:16:03 PM
-
if i block with herod phillip II, make a hero withdraw from battle, put phillip under deck to add agrippa to battle, can i capture the hero that was withdrawn using phillip?
Herod Philip II (Di)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Gold • Ability: 7 / 9 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: If another Herod is in play, return a Hero with strength greater than X to territory. You may place this card beneath deck to add a Herod to battle. • Play As: If another Herod is in play, return a Hero with strength greater than X to territory. You may place this card beneath deck to add to battle a Herod. • Identifiers: NT Male Human, Governor (Jew), Royalty • Verse: Luke 3:1 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()
Herod Agrippa II (TP)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Gold • Ability: None • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: Negate protect abilities on Fortresses. If a Hero withdraws from battle, you may capture it. May band to a Sadducee. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: NT Male Human, King (Judah) • Verse: Acts 25:23 • Availability: Thesaurus ex Preteritus booster packs ()
-
I don't think so.
I'm pretty sure that since the two abilities on Herod Phillip are seperate, the one completes before the band happens.
But I don't have any supporting sources for that, it's just the way I feel about it :)
-
i suppose it depends on what tense 'withdraws' is. does it only check for future withdraws, or all withdraws that has happened during the battle?
-
I'd say yes just for the fact that since texp, herods have been my fav T1 defense. :)
-
i suppose it depends on what tense 'withdraws' is.
According to the English language, "withdraws" would be a tense that is talking about the present onward, and therefore would not apply to an EC who had previously withdrawn. However, in Redemption there is a precedent that "discarded" (past), "being discarded" (present), and "about to be discarded" (future) all mean the same thing.
So it really depends on whether it is decided to make a similar ruling with "withdraw" as we have with "discard". Personally I hope we don't go that way. I like playing cards based on the way that they would be understood using normal English whenever possible.