Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on October 07, 2010, 05:26:36 PM

Title: Herod Agrippa II
Post by: Josh on October 07, 2010, 05:26:36 PM
I have King Manasseh with 2KH and Herod Agrippa II in territory.  My opponent has a bunch of heroes, attacks with one of them.  I block with Manasseh, play Siege, bring in Agrippa and all my opponent's heroes.  Still my inish, I play Darkness.  I then capture all my opponent's heroes with Agrippa.

My question is, can the capture be negated?  Darkness is negatable, but Agrippa's "instead" ability to capture a withdrawing hero is CBN.

Herod Agrippa II - " Negate protect abilities on Fortresses. If a Hero withdraws from battle, you may capture it. May band to a Sadducee. Cannot be negated"

Darkness - "All Heroes in battle lose their way and withdraw. Opponent must present a new Hero or rescue attempt fails."
Title: Re: Herod Agrippa II
Post by: browarod on October 07, 2010, 05:29:31 PM
This was discussed awhile back. My inclination is to say that you can negate Darkness before the capture grabs you, but you can't negate the capture.

I don't remember what the outcome of the other discussion was, though. I'll see if I can find the thread.
Title: Re: Herod Agrippa II
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 07, 2010, 05:53:40 PM
No, it cannot be Negated.
Title: Re: Herod Agrippa II
Post by: Master KChief on October 07, 2010, 08:20:14 PM
correct, there is no room to negate the darkness. after the darkness is played, the agrippa player has the option of activating the manually triggered ability immediately, at which point if they use it, it becomes cbn.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal