Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: DrowningFish on March 15, 2014, 08:50:57 PM

Title: Healing of Naaman
Post by: DrowningFish on March 15, 2014, 08:50:57 PM
special ability:Heal your human evil character and converted to a hero in the brigade of your choice. Does this evil character retain its special ability and now its just a hero with the same SA?
Title: Re: Healing of Naaman
Post by: Redoubter on March 15, 2014, 09:23:46 PM
Quote from: REG
Special abilities on Heroes (and good weapons) that have been converted to Evil Characters and evil weapons can never activate. Special abilities on Evil Characters (and evil weapons) that have been converted to Heroes may activate, except for special abilities that specifically target Heroes.

Basically, good cards that are converted do NOT retain their abilities.  Evil cards that are converted DO retain all abilities that do not specifically target/harm heroes.
Title: Re: Healing of Naaman
Post by: DrowningFish on March 15, 2014, 10:18:54 PM
So let's say I use it on TTFG + Ashdod site since brigades dont match , he still retains the negate all banding CBN? SINCE its not targeting heroes or evil charecters ?
Title: Re: Healing of Naaman
Post by: Praeceps on March 15, 2014, 10:24:30 PM
Correct
Title: Re: Healing of Naaman
Post by: DrowningFish on March 15, 2014, 10:28:37 PM
NOO Praeceps you can't read my posts. You'll know all my secrets I've got up my sleeves on Monday...
 
Title: Re: Healing of Naaman
Post by: Redoubter on March 15, 2014, 10:43:22 PM
Not sure where Ashdod came into play here, but just a note to put here in case anyone gets confused by looking at this later, but Ashdod only allows you to play other evil brigades on evil Philistines; if you convert a Philistine, it cannot use other enhancements through Ashdod (it can only use the good brigade it is converted to).
Title: Re: Healing of Naaman
Post by: TheJaylor on March 15, 2014, 11:41:05 PM
Not sure where Ashdod came into play here, but just a note to put here in case anyone gets confused by looking at this later, but Ashdod only allows you to play other evil brigades on evil Philistines; if you convert a Philistine, it cannot use other enhancements through Ashdod (it can only use the good brigade it is converted to).
I think he meant in order to use Healing of Naaman.
Title: Re: Healing of Naaman
Post by: EmJayBee83 on March 16, 2014, 01:50:25 AM
Quote from: REG
Special abilities on Heroes (and good weapons) that have been converted to Evil Characters and evil weapons can never activate. Special abilities on Evil Characters (and evil weapons) that have been converted to Heroes may activate, except for special abilities that specifically target Heroes.

Basically, good cards that are converted do NOT retain their abilities.  Evil cards that are converted DO retain all abilities that do not specifically target/harm heroes.
Small nit. Converted evil cards retain all *legal* abilities...

So if you convert an EC with an ability "May band to an evil character." that sa will not convert because it is not legal for a hero to band to an EC.

I don't think anyone who inhabits these boards would be confused by that, but sometimes really new players...
Title: Re: Healing of Naaman
Post by: Redoubter on March 16, 2014, 11:29:27 AM
Not sure where Ashdod came into play here, but just a note to put here in case anyone gets confused by looking at this later, but Ashdod only allows you to play other evil brigades on evil Philistines; if you convert a Philistine, it cannot use other enhancements through Ashdod (it can only use the good brigade it is converted to).
I think he meant in order to use Healing of Naaman.

Okay, I see that now, but it is worth noting that you cannot use Healing of Naaman on a Philistine in your discard pile, it would have to actually be played on a Philistine (or gray character) in territory with an occupied Ashdod, then target the discarded Philistine.

Quote from: REG
A healing enhancement played in this way must be played on a character of matching brigade in one of two ways:
(1) on a character in the holder's territory or
(2) on a character in the holder's discard pile (if the character was discarded in the same turn).
Both result in that character being healed. Healing cards played on a character in a discard pile must target the same character.

Ashdod is a Use Other Enhancements ability, which does not have any default targeting locations mentioned; therefore, it defaults to play.  Only Philistines in play may use other enhancements.  If your Philistine is discarded, you could heal him with this card, but only if you can play it on someone in territory, as the Philistine in discard does not have a matching brigade for the card and cannot use that brigade otherwise.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal