Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: sepjazzwarrior on August 19, 2012, 06:21:20 PM

Title: healing from set-aside/deck
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on August 19, 2012, 06:21:20 PM
can you heal someone that was discarded from set-aside?  from deck?  Does a EC discarded from deck activate Horma?
Title: Re: healing from set-aside/deck
Post by: Redoubter on August 19, 2012, 07:47:41 PM
The answer to all of these should be 'yes'.

For heal, legal targets include an eligible character who was discarded in that turn, no matter where they came from.

As far as Hormah, I'm almost positive that evil characters from your deck fit the condition, based on previous rulings on "your", Chamber of Angels, and Gates of Hell.
Title: Re: healing from set-aside/deck
Post by: YourMathTeacher on August 19, 2012, 11:13:29 PM
The most recent ruling that I am aware of is that angels discarded from deck do not go to Chamber.
Title: Re: healing from set-aside/deck
Post by: RTSmaniac on August 19, 2012, 11:18:44 PM
Heal ruling changed since Kirk broke it with Gates of Hell deck
Title: Re: Re: healing from set-aside/deck
Post by: Professoralstad on August 19, 2012, 11:24:07 PM
The most recent ruling that I am aware of is that angels discarded from deck do not go to Chamber.

Any chance you could remember who said that? Because it is incorrect. Instead can save any card that meets the condition regardless of the location before and after. The reason that IaH/ Chamber used to work is that Chamber could instead a discard from hand, which for most purposes is the same as discarding from deck.

There is a rule from last year that says you cannot heal characters discarded from hand or deck, however.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk 2
Title: Re: healing from set-aside/deck
Post by: RTSmaniac on August 19, 2012, 11:25:05 PM
A Heal effect can only target a character discarded from in play or set aside area.  It cannot target a character discarded from a hand or deck.
Title: Re: healing from set-aside/deck
Post by: Captain Kirk on August 19, 2012, 11:35:43 PM
I would also like to second Jordan's notion that I am not aware of any ruling change that prevents angels from going to Chamber after discarded from deck.

Sorry I broke the game for the rest of you. (I'm not sorry)  :).

Kirk
Title: Re: Re: healing from set-aside/deck
Post by: YourMathTeacher on August 19, 2012, 11:56:52 PM
Any chance you could remember who said that?

LOL. I'm lucky if I remember what day of the week it is. I could let you know if we had a working search function.  ::)
Title: Re: healing from set-aside/deck
Post by: Redoubter on August 19, 2012, 11:58:29 PM
Found the link to that ruling that heal doesn't work on cards discarded from anywhere but play or set-aside (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/redemption-official-rules/official-new-rulings-announcement-thread/msg416755/#msg416755), which I somehow missed.  Though, of course, I wasn't playing then, so maybe that was it...dunno.

Well, there it is!  And on a side note, I couldn't find anything to support the assertion that the GoH/CoA combo doesn't work anymore.
Title: Re: healing from set-aside/deck
Post by: YourMathTeacher on August 20, 2012, 12:03:09 AM
I know that the "Play As" for Chamber says "heal," but I don't think that was the reason. I thought it was related to the your=own+control and that a card discarded from deck is not controlled by the player. My memory is fuzzy, though, so don't take my word for it. What exactly is the definition of control?
Title: Re: healing from set-aside/deck
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 20, 2012, 01:39:06 AM
I'm not sure if there's an actual written definition for it, but it's functionally "Under your influence." Defining "control" is a bit needless because every definition of it will contain either the word "control" itself or a synonymous word or phrase.
Title: Re: healing from set-aside/deck
Post by: ChristianSoldier on August 20, 2012, 03:15:47 AM
Couldn't you just define control as the position the card is in.

You control any card that is in any of the following:
Your territory
Your side of Battle
Your set aside area
<Insert any other places that are needed>
Title: Re: healing from set-aside/deck
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 20, 2012, 03:36:32 AM
You could control a card just about anywhere. Herod's Treachery is a perfect example of a card that could be under your control in your opponent's territory or set-aside area. A Demon placed with Possessed can be under your control while in an opponent's Land of Bondage.
Title: Re: healing from set-aside/deck
Post by: ChristianSoldier on August 20, 2012, 03:59:47 AM
You could control a card just about anywhere. Herod's Treachery is a perfect example of a card that could be under your control in your opponent's territory or set-aside area. A Demon placed with Possessed can be under your control while in an opponent's Land of Bondage.

That is definitely true.

How about something like "If the ability is read from your perspective (or would be if it had one) you control it".
I don't personally like it that way, and really it should be the other way around "the ability is read from your perspective if you control it".
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal