Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Captain Kirk on June 19, 2009, 03:31:11 PM
-
Ok, my opponent captures Joshua the High Priest and then proceeds to play Burial on him. Can I use Brass Serpent or another healing card to heal him?
Kirk
-
It isnt being discarded as a hero it is a lost soul. No
-
But it resets back to a hero once it hits the discard pile, and you have the whole turn to heal them if I'm not mistaken.
-
Do you mean you could have a guy CMed in your prep and you could heal him/her in your d/c phase? That doesn't seem right to me....
-
yeah, i thought once the phase was over that you couldnt heal them. once the character is in the discard pile, i figure that you would need a "search discard pile for a hero" card.
-
REG > Restore to Life, Heal, or Release > How to Use
Healing cards may be activated on any character in play (e.g., territory) of matching brigade color. They may target any card being discarded or subject to a poison or disease special ability, regardless of brigade color. The healing effect is instant, not delayed. You can play a healing enhancement at any time to restore a character sent to the discard pile at any previous time during the turn (e.g., Draw Phase or Preparation Phase). The discarded character may come from battle, a territory, a set-aside area, or from a draw pile (e.g., Confusion). Cards being discarded can be healed on the way to the discard pile. Cards being discarded from anywhere may be healed at any point during that turn. Characters discarded on a previous turn cannot be healed. A healed card is immediately placed in the owner’s territory; they retain all their abilities.
But it resets back to a hero once it hits the discard pile, and you have the whole turn to heal them if I'm not mistaken.
I think you have to heal it as it was before it was discarded, not what it resets to when discarded. Even if you could heal him, I think he would return as a captured character.
-
So if you heal him, he unresets? ???
-
He'd "unreset" his gained abilities, which I would think includes brigade/alignment changes. I think you can't heal him in the first place.
-
Question...
Does this mean that Madness, when converted from a curse to an Evil Character, could be targeted in the discard pile as a character instead of a curse? Or if Deafening Spirit is discarded during battle, could I use Satan Released to pull it back out as it has not yet reset to the status of being an enhancement?
-
I think this only applies to healing, so you could heal in either of those cases, but nothing else.
-
Also, as far as the question of where it goes to... Aggie seemed to have missed a part of his own REG quote.
Healing cards may be activated on any character in play (e.g., territory) of matching brigade color. They may target any card being discarded or subject to a poison or disease special ability, regardless of brigade color. The healing effect is instant, not delayed. You can play a healing enhancement at any time to restore a character sent to the discard pile at any previous time during the turn (e.g., Draw Phase or Preparation Phase). The discarded character may come from battle, a territory, a set-aside area, or from a draw pile (e.g., Confusion). Cards being discarded can be healed on the way to the discard pile. Cards being discarded from anywhere may be healed at any point during that turn. Characters discarded on a previous turn cannot be healed. A healed card is immediately placed in the owners territory; they retain all their abilities.
How could it go back to the land of bondage when it clearly says that?
-
I never said where it went, I just said it remained a LS. ;) It goes to your LoB (which is in your territory) instead of your opponent's.
I also think that section may be outdated - if you heal a character you exchanged for (SWS), it goes back to your opponent?
-
Wow, I ALWAYS make that mistake.... :-[
I keep thinking Territory =/= Land of Bondage...
-
How could it go back to the land of bondage when it clearly says that?
FWIW, Aggie said that he didn't think it could be used at all. I agree that a healing card cannot be played on a discarded "captured hero," which is what the original question in this thread was about. The healing card treats the character "as if they had not been discarded," which is why they keep all gained abilities. Since the Captured Hero was discarded as a Lost Soul, you would only be able to "heal" it as a Lost Soul, which no current Healing Card does.
-
That actually makes sense. :P However, that would mean that the "captured hero" does not immediately reset in the d/c pile?
-
That actually makes sense. :P However, that would mean that the "captured hero" does not immediately reset in the d/c pile?
That would be my understanding. Otherwise, healed characters would not keep gained abilities from set-aside.
-
Healing is kind of a strange bird since it is allowed to reach back pretty far in the process and restore the Hero to the state he was in prior to the discard.
Since that particular Hero was a Lost Soul prior to the discard, you can't really apply a heal to him since you're basically directing the effect at whatever Hero was there before discard.
-
Hey, does this same principle apply to converted EC's and Chariot of Fire...?
-
No. CoF is not a "heal" card, it is a "Return to Draw Pile" card. CoF can only take face-value heroes out of the discard pile.
-
So then let me see if I've got this. ...When the captured hero is discarded, he can be targeted as neither a hero or a lost soul?
-
He could be targeted as a Lost Soul for healing purposes, but no healing cards target Lost Souls.
He could be targeted as a Hero for cards like Chariot of Fire or Midwives, that target heroes in the discard pile.
-
Well how did I get so confused?!
-
So what would the ruling be to this question now?
-
Fairly certain that the ruling is the same as what YMT gave; it is a captured character, and since it must be able to be targeted as it was before being discarded, it could not be "healed" unless the card could target a captured character.
That would be the current ruling as far as I can see it with how Heal works at this moment.