Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: juhnkect on June 27, 2009, 02:58:56 PM

Title: Headquarters at Riblah and Discard
Post by: juhnkect on June 27, 2009, 02:58:56 PM
Headquarters at Riblah S/A: Protect Babylonian Evil Characters in your territory from discard.  During discard phase, you may discard this Fortress to discard all captured Heroes in your Land of Bondage.

Plague of flies S/A: All Evil Characters in play decrease 6/6 for remainder of turn.  If result is 0/0 or less discard character(s).

My Question is... can plague of flies still discard Babylonians if Headquarters is in play? The Babylonians aren't protected from decreasing by 6/6.... do they still discard because that is just the way redemption works? or are they protected from discard and are just in the negatives for the turn? How does this work?

Title: Re: Headquarters at Riblah and Discard
Post by: YourMathTeacher on June 27, 2009, 03:28:37 PM
Since the Babylonians are protected from discard, they are not discarded by having a toughness of zero (or less).

However, an interesting question is whether the fortress' ability would remain if you chose to discard it in your Discard Phase. Plague of Flies' SA remains in effect until the end of the turn.
Title: Re: Headquarters at Riblah and Discard
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on June 27, 2009, 03:40:59 PM
Abilities last until end of phase unless negated.  Discarding the fort does not negate.
Title: Re: Headquarters at Riblah and Discard
Post by: YourMathTeacher on June 27, 2009, 03:48:36 PM
I guess I was curious as to whether the end of the Discard Phase is simultaneous with the end of the turn.
Title: Re: Headquarters at Riblah and Discard
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on June 27, 2009, 09:24:48 PM
I would assume so as there is not phase after it.
Title: Re: Headquarters at Riblah and Discard
Post by: YourMathTeacher on June 27, 2009, 11:56:59 PM
Sigh....

Is there a moment, at the end of the Discard Phase, before the end of the turn, that such a scenario could take place.

Title: Re: Headquarters at Riblah and Discard
Post by: Gabe on June 27, 2009, 11:58:37 PM
No, the discard phase is the end of the turn.  When it ends, the turn is over.
Title: Re: Headquarters at Riblah and Discard
Post by: Alex_Olijar on June 27, 2009, 11:59:10 PM
I would say discarding Riblah means discarding your guys. Discard phase is before the moment of passing the turn.
Title: Re: Headquarters at Riblah and Discard
Post by: YourMathTeacher on June 28, 2009, 12:16:20 AM
Let's back up a bit. I need the quote from the REG or rulebook about ongoing abilities lasting until the end of any Phase. The glossary only specifies Battle:

Quote
Ongoing Abilities

Ongoing abilities are abilities that have not yet completed.  For example, banding is not an ongoing ability because it completes itself before initiative passes.  Banding abilities are Instant Abilities.  Gabriel is not an ongoing ability because it completes itself before initiative passes. The following are ongoing special abilities:

Lasting Effects (last until end of battle unless specified otherwise)

•      Access to Sites

•      Copy Ability

•      First Strike

•      Greater Worth

•      Ignore or Repel

•      Immune

•      Increase or Decrease Ability

•      Increase or Decrease Hand Limit

•      Negate All

•      Prevent

•      Protect

I realize that this is protection from a fortress, not from anything in battle, but my search for clarification turned up empty. Maybe someone who knows where it is can quote it for me.

Title: Re: Headquarters at Riblah and Discard
Post by: SirNobody on June 28, 2009, 01:24:58 AM
Hey,

No, the discard phase is the end of the turn.  When it ends, the turn is over.

Gabe is right.  The end of the discard phase is the end of the turn.  The two "moments" are one in the same.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Headquarters at Riblah and Discard
Post by: Gabe on June 28, 2009, 08:16:54 AM
Let's back up a bit. I need the quote from the REG or rulebook about ongoing abilities lasting until the end of any Phase. The glossary only specifies Battle:

....

I realize that this is protection from a fortress, not from anything in battle, but my search for clarification turned up empty. Maybe someone who knows where it is can quote it for me.

Is this what you're looking for?

Quote from: REG > Instant Abilities > Discard or Remove > Default Conditions
Cards with ongoing abilities that are not negated continue until the end of the phase in which they are discarded or removed from battle (in the case of special abilities on characters and enhancements, unless specified otherwise), or discarded or removed from play (in the case of sites, artifacts, fortresses, lost souls, placed cards, etc…).
Title: Re: Headquarters at Riblah and Discard
Post by: YourMathTeacher on June 28, 2009, 10:13:24 PM
Yes. Thanks Gabe!  ;D
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal