Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Arch Angel on August 15, 2010, 06:59:08 PM

Title: Harmed by Hankies?
Post by: Arch Angel on August 15, 2010, 06:59:08 PM
So, according to the REG...

Quote
Negative Effect
A negative effect is any effect from cards not of the same alignment (i.e., good, evil, or neutral) targeting a character.

My question is regarding this card...

Quote
Miraculous Handkerchiefs (Ap)
...
Play As: Protect all Heroes in holder's territory and set-aside area from discard. Suspend the effect of ongoing abilities that have a negative effect on those Heroes until this card is deactivated.

so... since an Artifact is Neutral, according to the REG Miracle Hankies is harming the heroes by targeting them... so does it suspend itself?
Title: Re: Harmed by Hankies?
Post by: Arch Angel on August 16, 2010, 12:45:14 PM
Can I get a ruling on this, please?
Title: Re: Harmed by Hankies?
Post by: Master_Chi on August 16, 2010, 12:53:12 PM
I had a similar question regarding the same card.

Does Miraculous Hankies keep ALL harm from happening until it is deactivated? What if it isn't deactivated, but negated?
Title: Re: Harmed by Hankies?
Post by: Professoralstad on August 16, 2010, 03:21:22 PM
I guess I don't completely know for sure, but I would think that protect abilities don't really target anything, at least not in the same way that captures/discards/etc. do. I don't think any type of protection could be labeled "harm".

I'm pretty sure that harm is going to be clarified in the new REG.
Title: Re: Harmed by Hankies?
Post by: Arch Angel on August 16, 2010, 08:32:40 PM
So then Protect is not an effect targeting a card? I'm just trying to understand the current Ruling of Harm/Negative effect. It's awesome if the new REG is going to clarify this, but until Duke Nukem Forever the new REG comes out, how is this being ruled in the mean time?

If Protect doesn't target things... then how does it work? :/
Title: Re: Harmed by Hankies?
Post by: SirNobody on August 16, 2010, 11:54:55 PM
Hey,

Protect does target the cards it gives protection to.

Compare the original wording of Miraculous Handkerchiefs to the play as.  Do you see a change?  In the original wording enhancements, poisons and diseases are suspended, in the play as that's expanded to all ongoing abilities affecting those heroes.  The play as needs to be corrected to only include ongoing abilities that are on enhancements (or that are poisons or diseases).  That correction answers your question, right?

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Harmed by Hankies?
Post by: Arch Angel on August 17, 2010, 12:23:50 AM
Ah, yes, that would work. I've gotten into a habit of just looking at the Play As/Errata of older cards, rather than the original card itself, so I didn't even notice the discrepancy there. So then Miraculous Handkerchiefs should be played as only suspending Enhancements, Poisons, and Diseases, rather than all artifacts and all evil cards that target heroes in territory?
Title: Re: Harmed by Hankies?
Post by: Master_Chi on August 17, 2010, 05:18:36 PM
Hey,

Protect does target the cards it gives protection to.

Compare the original wording of Miraculous Handkerchiefs to the play as.  Do you see a change?  In the original wording enhancements, poisons and diseases are suspended, in the play as that's expanded to all ongoing abilities affecting those heroes.  The play as needs to be corrected to only include ongoing abilities that are on enhancements (or that are poisons or diseases).  That correction answers your question, right?

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly

I was literally interpreting the "protect from ALL negative effect"..... But that's not how it's supposed to play?
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal