Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Praeceps on September 22, 2015, 08:49:45 PM

Title: GS vs DoU
Post by: Praeceps on September 22, 2015, 08:49:45 PM
Can I use a  Gam's Speech in territory to negate Death of Unrighteous?

Gamaliel's Speech - Place this in your territory: You may discard this card to negate and discard the last Enhancement played by an opponent or any other enhancement in play.

Death of Unrighteous - Shuffle all Lost Souls and sites in holder's Land of Bondage into owner's draw pile. Discard all Evil Characters in battle.
Title: Re: GS vs DoU
Post by: Jonesy on September 22, 2015, 08:58:31 PM
Yep! :)
Title: Re: GS vs DoU
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 22, 2015, 09:24:37 PM
You can't use it during special initiative, but there are very few cases where that would matter.
Title: Re: GS vs DoU
Post by: jbeers285 on September 22, 2015, 09:46:39 PM
You can't use it during special initiative, but there are very few cases where that would matter.

I thought u could use it from territory to negate a battle winning enhancement that had removed all your characters in battle.  I understand it's not happening in special initiative but it behaves the same way. I understood this to be a great way to get around a battle winning situation.  For instance If your opponent plays carried into exhile to capture one of your 2 heroes in battle and then plays Christian martyr to discard the other you could still use Gam Speech to negate carried into exhile to continue the battle.

I believe it cannot be played from hand during SI.

I may be wrong but that was my understanding.
Title: Re: GS vs DoU
Post by: browarod on September 22, 2015, 09:55:46 PM
Gam's Speech cannot be used during special initiative whether from hand or territory because of the "place" then "discard to negate" functionality. In most situations it can be used immediately after special initiative to negate the card anyway, but in certain circumstances (Herod Agrippa 2 + a withdraw ability, etc.) it fizzles.
Title: Re: GS vs DoU
Post by: Praeceps on September 22, 2015, 11:15:33 PM
I asked because DoU ends up discarding itself (since there is no EC in battle to "hold" it) and I couldn't remember if GS could negate it in the discard pile.
Title: Re: GS vs DoU
Post by: Drrek on September 22, 2015, 11:23:12 PM
I asked because DoU ends up discarding itself (since there is no EC in battle to "hold" it) and I couldn't remember if GS could negate it in the discard pile.

GS can negate last, which can negate regardless of where that enhancement went, so long as it was the last one your opponent played.
Title: Re: GS vs DoU
Post by: The Guardian on September 30, 2015, 02:31:47 AM
Gam's Speech cannot be used during special initiative whether from hand or territory because of the "place" then "discard to negate" functionality. In most situations it can be used immediately after special initiative to negate the card anyway, but in certain circumstances (Herod Agrippa 2 + a withdraw ability, etc.) it fizzles.

I asked because DoU ends up discarding itself (since there is no EC in battle to "hold" it) and I couldn't remember if GS could negate it in the discard pile.

GS can negate last, which can negate regardless of where that enhancement went, so long as it was the last one your opponent played.

Browa and Drrek are correct.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal